A total of 13 sitting Fianna Fáil senators have so far been put forward by designated nominating bodies to contest the next Seanad elections.

The figure represents just under half the total of 29 who have been selected so far in this way. The deadline for this particular part of nominations is midday tomorrow.

Another 47 candidates have already declared to contest the election from the university constituency.

Those going forward again for Fianna Fáil include the Leader of the House, Donie Cassidy, and Senator Marc MacSharry, who unsuccessfully contested the Dáil election.

Two sitting Fine Gael senators have also been nominated so far.

Councillor Barry Nevin of Wicklow County Council received a nomination from the Irish Congress of Trade Unions to contest the elections for 2011.

Cllr Nevin is hoping to win a seat on the Seanad’s Labour panel.

The Seanad elections will take place in April.