The Dublin bye-elections have seen Fine Gael's George Lee take Dublin South and Independent Maureen O'Sullivan win in Dublin Central.

For more visit RTÉ.ie/elections

For the latest local election tallies go to the Election Tracker

Ms O'Sullivan was declared elected after reaching 13,739 votes. She was short of the quota of 14,207.

After count seven, candidates Ivana Bacik, Paul O'Loughlin, Malachy Steenson and Patrick Talbot had all been eliminated.

Afterwards, Ms O'Sullivan said she looked forward to serving the area as a TD and said a lot of work needs to be done.

She said she would be a community-committed TD who would serve ordinary people.

Ms O'Sullivan added that it was sad Tony Gregory was not here tonight to see her victory, but she said he would have a wry look on his face wherever he is.

Massive win for Lee

In Dublin South, more than 27,000 votes propelled Mr Lee to victory, becoming the first candidate to win a bye-election on the first count since Brian Cowen in 1984.

Almost from the moment the boxes were open, tallies indicated that Mr Lee was on course to take the seat.

He was elected with a total of 27,768 votes, the highest ever achieved by Fine Gael in that constituency. The quota was 26,019.

Speaking to reporters earlier, he said 'to be put down as number one by so many people is an amazing achievement'.

Fine Gael leader Enda Kenny said it was 'a truly spectacular victory' for Mr Lee and for the party.

Labour's Alex White had 10,294 votes while Shay Brennan of Fianna Fáil had 9,250.