The incoming Government held its first Cabinet meeting in Áras an Uachtaráin last night, after ministers received their seals of office from President Mary McAleese.

Eight ministers in the outgoing Government retained their portfolios in the new Cabinet, but a number were reshuffled.

The new line-up contains two Green Party Ministers, John Gormley and Eamon Ryan.

Following the presentation of their seals of office, the new ministers sat down in Áras an Uachtaráin for their first formal meeting, which was followed by a reception.

The real work starts when they arrive at their Departments.

The Taoiseach, Bertie Ahern, made space for his new appointments by nominating outgoing Arts Minister John O'Donoghue as Ceann Comhairle, and demoting Dick Roche to Minister of State for European Affairs.

Into Cabinet come the two Greens: John Gormley in Environment, and Eamon Ryan in the revamped Department of Communications, Energy & Natural Resources.

Fianna Fáil's Brian Lenihan takes over the Department of Justice, left vacant by the election defeat of Michael McDowell.

Séamus Brennan moves to Arts, Sport & Tourism, and Martin Cullen replaces him in Social and Family Affairs, while Noel Dempsey moves to the renamed Department of Transport & the Marine.

Other ministers stay in their previous jobs, with Brian Cowen becoming Tánaiste as well as Minister for Finance.