Just two days after the State's Irish language television station TG4 became independent from RTÉ, Noel Dempsey TD, Minister for Communications, Marine and Natural Resources, has announced the members of its new Board.

Former GAA president Peter Quinn will serve as chairman.
Former Galway Hurler Joe Connolly, actress Bríd Ní Neachtáin, and former RnaG chair Padraig MacDonnacha will all be members. 

TG4 became an independent station on 1 April and has been transformed into an independent statutory body known as Teilifis na Gaeilge.

Minister Dempsey said that establishing TG4 as an independent body is central to the provision of a high quality Irish language broadcasting service.

Other members of the new board are Eilís Ní Conghaile, Maeve Ní Garbheigh, Méadhbh Nic an Airchinnigh, Feargal Ó Sé and Regina Culliton.

TG4 went on the air in 1996. It has 800,000 viewers per day with a 3.5 percent share of the national television market, according to its website.