The Northern Secretary has confirmed the make-up of the new Police Board in Northern Ireland. The board will replace the Police Authority in the North and will be responsible for overseeing the new Police Service.

Ten members have already been nominated by three political parties: four Ulster Unionists, three from the SDLP and three from the DUP, with Sinn Féin declining to nominate anyone. The other nine members are independents.

The chair is Professor Desmond Rea from Belfast, formerly of the University of Ulster and part-time chair of the Labour Relations Agency. The deputy is Denis Bradley from Derry, a filmmaker and former priest.

The other seven include Viscount Brookeborough from Fermanagh, Brian Doherty, a community worker from Derry, Barry Gilligan of Dunloe Ewart, Tom Kelly, a public relations executive who has held positions in the SDLP, and Pauline McCabe a business consultant from South Down.

Rosaleen Moore also from South Down, a director of Craigavon and Banbridge Health Trust and Mr Suneil Sharma, a businessman who is on the committee of the Northern Ireland Council for Ethnic Minorities, are also on the board.

Northern Secretary Dr John Reid said that he looked forward to working with them in helping to shape the future direction of policing in the North.