The Awards

The inaugural RTÉ Radio 1 Folk Awards took place in Vicar Street in Dublin on 25th October 2018. RTÉ Radio 1 is proud to establish this event which celebrates the huge range of folk music being played in Ireland today. The event was hosted by presenters Ruth Smith and John Creedon and broadcast live on RTÉ Radio 1.

On the night nine awards were presented and artists such as Emma Langford, Declan O’Rourke and Andy Irvine were celebrated among others, full list of winners below.

There were live performances from Saint Sister, Lankum, Andy Irvine, Landless, The Whileaways, Christy Moore, Iarla O'Lionard, Daoiri Farrell, Muireann Nic Amhlaoibh, Eleanor Shanley, The Lost Brothers, Steo Wall and Slow Moving Clouds.

To mark the inaugural RTÉ Radio 1 Folk Awards, RTÉ Radio 1 presents an accompanying four part feature series exploring some of the myriad strands that make up the world of Irish folk music, which you can find here. These programmes were produced with support from the Broadcasting Authority of Ireland.


  1. Best Original Folk Track
    Along the Western Seaboard - Declan O'Rourke
  2. Best Traditional Folk Track
    Bean Dubh A’ Ghleanna - Muireann Nic Amhlaoibh
  3. Best Folk Singer
    Radie Peat
  4. Best Emerging Folk Artist
    Emma Langford
  5. Best Folk Instrumentalist
    Martin Hayes
  6. Best Folk Group
  7. Best Folk Album
    Haven - We Banjo 3
  8. Lifetime Achievement Award
    Andy Irvine
  9. Hall of Fame
    Tom Munnelly and John Reilly.