Ireland's Eurovision hopeful Brooke Scullion lit up the stage at the PalaOlimpico in Turin during the song contest's second semi-final but failed to land a spot in Saturday's grand final.

The 22-year-old Derry native impressed with her unstoppably upbeat pop track That's Rich but didn't manage to break Ireland's run of bad luck at the contest.

Ireland last qualified for the Eurovision final in 2018 with Ryan O'Shaughnessy and his song Together.

Scullion, who got a huge reaction from the crowd as her track kicked off, put in a polished, peppy performance along with her quartet of backing dancers, but voting ultimately didn’t go her way.

She was the tenth act to take to the stage at the PalaOlimpico, with a total of 18 countries competing for 10 places in the final.

Belgium, Czech Republic, Azerbaijan, Poland, Finland, Estonia, Australia, Sweden, Romania and Serbia have all progressed to Saturday's grand final.

Hotly tipped favourites Ukraine were among the ten countries who qualified for the final in Tuesday night's first semi-final, along with Armenia, Greece, Iceland, Lithuania, Moldova, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal and Switzerland.

Ukraine's Kalush Orchestra are the favourites to win this year's Eurovision. Photo: Marco Bertorello / AFP

Finland's The Rasmus was the first act to take to the stage in Thursday night's second semi-final, with the rock band performing their track Jezebel on a stage awash with balloons and pyrotechnics.

Israel's hopeful Michael Ben David was up next with his song I.M.

Serbian act Konstrakta took to the stage with In Corpore Sano.

Azerbaijan's Nadir Rustamli tugged at the heartstrings with Fade To Black.

Georgia's Circus Mircus put in an eccentric performance with Lock Me In.

Malta's Emma Muscat was up next with her catchy tune I Am What I Am.

San Marino's Achille Lauro donned a glittery catsuit and cowboy hat for a raunchy rendition of his track Stripper.

Australian singer Sheldon Riley gave his vocal chords a serious work-out performing his big ballad Not The Same.

Cyprus's Andromache put in a sultry performance with her track Ela.

Ireland's Brooke Scullion next took to the stage with her track That's Rich. It's fair to say it went down a storm in the PalaOlimpico.

North Macedonia's Andrea took the tempo down a notch with her song Circles.

Estonia's Stefan gave it socks with his track Hope.

Romania's WRS got the crowd going with Llámame.

Poland's Ochman impressed with his vocal range on his song River.

Montenegro's Vladana put in an impressive performance with her track Breathe.

Belgium's Jérémie Makiese was the next to perform with his track Miss You.

Sweden's Cornelia Jakobs knocked it out of the park with Hold Me Closer.

Czech Republic's We Are Domi concluded the live performances with Lights Off.

The Eurovision Song Contest Grand Final takes place on Saturday, 14 May at 8pm. You can catch it live on RTÉ One, RTÉ Player and RTÉ Radio 1.

Photos: EBU