Former One Direction star Niall Horan will play a live streamed gig from the Royal Albert Hall in London on November 7th to raise money for his touring crew, who have been out of work since the outbreak of the pandemic.

The multi-camera event will feature the Mullingar man and his full band, with the performance live-streamed to fans around the world and time-zoned to specific regions.

Horan: "I want to highlight the incredible people who work in touring that make those events possible."

Tickets are on sale from 9.00am this Friday from Ticketmaster and NiallHoran.com, and the show will feature songs from the singer's two solo albums, Flicker and Heartbreak Weather.

"One Direction would be mad not to reform."

The one-off event is also in support of a new initiative called We Need Crew, a recently launched hardship fund for the touring industry, with all profits from the show shared between Horan’s crew and the relief fund.

The gig announcement comes as the government unveiled €50million for Ireland’s beleaguered live entertainment industry, which employs 35,000 people in Ireland and has suffered badly under COVID-19 restrictions.

"I know that live events are something we all miss, and until we are able to return I want to highlight the incredible people who work in touring that make those events possible and whose livelihoods have been severely affected," Horan says.

"I'm putting on this gig to try and raise awareness of the immense value they bring to an industry enjoyed by so many and do something to help them and their families. I ask all my fans to support them with me and buy a ticket if you can, and I encourage all artists to do the same."

He added, "We Need Crew's mission is simple, they want to create a fund specifically for live music touring crews, so that they can hand out money to those crew members that have already reached breaking point and help to support them in the wait to go back to touring. 

"The initiative is encouraging artists to support fundraising activities of their own and to raise awareness among audiences of the wider impacts of live music shutdown.

In addition, when purchasing a ticket, there will be an opportunity to make a charity donation to the global We Need Crew relief fund and the Irish AIST (Association of Irish Stage Technicians) hardship fund We Are The Support Act, should you wish to do so.

Niall Horan

The show will not be available on-demand after it has taken place and, with no audience in attendance, the only way to watch it will be to purchase tickets to the livestream broadcast.

Produced by Driift, the livestream will commence at the following local times, with fans able to choose whichever stream they prefer.

Livestream #1: UK, Ireland & Europe (8pm GMT, 9pm CET).

Livestream #2: North America (East Coast) & Central/South America (8pm EST, 10pm ART/BRT).

Livestream #3: North America (West Coast) (8pm PST).

Livestream #4: Australia, New Zealand & Asia (Sunday 8th November - 8pm AEDT, 10pm NZDT, 6pm JST & KST).