The Lyric Feature

    Friday, 7 - 8pm

    Friday 6th November

    Journey to Yu. 
    Artist Dragana Jurišic brings Rebecca West’s 1941 masterpiece “Black Lamb and Grey Falcon” into the present day for an encounter with the medium of photography. With her rolliflex camera she follows in West’s footsteps through Yugoslavia, from which she herself was displaced during the 1990s war. Creating a unique and original road-trip, the two women from different eras intersect in an intellectual, emotional, and physical journey through the Balkans, conveying the devastating impact of war and displacement on ordinary people. In this documentary, programme maker Deirdre Mulrooney takes a virtual roadtrip to Yugoslavia, inspired by photographer Dragana Jurišic's exhibition YU – The Lost Country and following in the footsteps of Rebecca West’s travelogue, Black Lamb and Grey Falcon. Contributors include Olwen Fouere, Zlata Filipovic, Dijana Milosevic, Colin Graham, Pat Laffan.

    An Out There production. Producer/Narrator : Deirdre Mulrooney, Sound Supervision: John Davis

    The Lyric Feature Friday 9 May 2014


    The Lyric Feature

    Are we Dancing? Regan Hutchins celebrates contemporary dance in Ireland and those who move with it.

    The Lyric Feature is RTÉ lyric fm's weekly documentary and music feature programme. Programmes are produced in house by Lyric fm staff or in collaboration with independent production companies. Subject matter varies from week to week but most of the programmes aim to provide insight into music and music making.

    The Lyric Feature is currently accepting proposals from independent producers and production companies for the BAI's Sound and Vision III Round 24. See here for details

    Music Played on the Show

    • 19:57
      Title: Miniatures For String Orchestra No 4 Simgera Allegretto
      Composer: Sulchan Zinzadse
      Performer(s): (Lyric) Not Available
      Performer(s): Georgian Chamber Orchestra-Ingolstadt
      Album: Kartuli Musika Music From Georgia ~~ PDOB, Guild, gmcd7279
      Duration: 2:30
    • Title: Are We Dancing? 02.02
      Composer: Richard M Sherman
      Performer(s): John Davidson/Lesley Ann Warren
      Performer(s): John Davidson/Lesley Ann Warren
      Duration: 2:02
    • Title: Chisa 03.59
      Composer: Abdullah Ibrahim
      Performer(s): Abdullah Ibrahim
      Performer(s): Abdullah Ibrahim
      Duration: 3:58
    • Title: Heywété 02.57
      Composer: Tesfa Maryam Kidané
      Performer(s): Tesfa Maryam Kidané
      Performer(s): Tesfa Maryam Kidané
      Duration: 2:56
    • Title: Ballet Suite No.1 - Waltz-Scherzo 04.22
      Composer: Shostakovich
      Performer(s): Dmitry Yablonsky
      Performer(s): Dmitry Yablonsky
      Duration: 4:21
    • Title: No Man Can Find The War 02.46
      Composer: Tim Buckley
      Performer(s): Tim Buckley
      Performer(s): Tim Buckley
      Duration: 2:46
    • Title: Another Country 07.53
      Composer: Jonathan Sage
      Performer(s): Jonathan Sage
      Performer(s): Jonathan Sage
      Duration: 7:53
    • Title: Hana 03.50
      Composer: Asa Chang
      Performer(s): Asa-Chang
      Performer(s): Asa-Chang
      Duration: 3:50
    • Title: Impromptu In G Flat Major 04.57
      Composer: Schubert
      Performer(s): Jeno Jando
      Performer(s): Jeno Jando
      Duration: 4:57
    • Title: Light Through The Veins 01.00
      Composer: Jon Hopkins
      Performer(s): Jon Hopkins
      Performer(s): Jon Hopkins
      Duration: 1:00

    The Lyric Feature

    Latest Show

    Programme Archive

    The Lyric Feature on Twitter

    Schedule Open Schedule