The Blue of the Night with Eamonn Lenihan

    Nightly, 10pm - 1am

    Coming up on the next programme...

    Apr 13. This Sunday night's line-up includes Debussy's "Reverie" and part of Satie's "Gnossiennes"; 2 singer-songwriters covering material by John Martyn (as well as the man himself); a piece for guitar by Agustin Barrios Mangoré; new music by Colin Vallon and Bugge Wesseltoft; Richard Thompson and Scott Walker; a tune by Mose Allison (pictured); 2 compositions by J.S. Bach; sax-player Zoot Sims; Norwegian jazz pianist/composer Jon Balke; the slow movement of a Mendelssohn string quartet; and the last of the week's recordings by T-Bone Walker (see BLUE TUNES, below). 10pm...

    The Blue of the Night with Eamonn Lenihan Sunday 13 April 2014


    The Blue of the Night with Eamonn Lenihan

    Aaron Thibeaux Walker aka T-Bone was one of the most influential musicians to rise up from the fertile Texas blues scene; he's our Blue Tunes feature this week.

    Blue Tunes Recommended -

    T-Bone Walker: April 7th - 13th

    Blues guitarist T-Bone Walker is one of the most influential musicians to rise up from the fertile Texas blues scene. The first man to go electric, his impact on blues guitar worldwide was huge. This week, Blue features T-Bone from his days with Capitol Records in the 40’s through to his Grammy Winner in 70’s and - especially - recordings made for Imperial Records during the 1950s.

    Music Played on the Show

    • 10:04 p.m.
      Title: Eleanor Plunkett --
      Performer(s): John Byrne (Flute), Kevin Byrne (Guitar)
      Duration: 0:02:48
    • 10:14 p.m.
      Title: (I Wonder) Where Our Love Has Gone
      Performer(s): Zoot Sims (Tenor Sax), Jimmy Rowles (Piano)
      Duration: 0:05:09
    • 10:18 p.m.
      Title: Taraf --
      Performer(s): Jon Balke (Keyboards)
      Duration: 0:06:33
    • 10:26 p.m.
      Title: Elegiac
      Composer: Hopkins
      Performer(s): Jon Hopkins
      Album: Opalescent, Just Music, TAO006
      Duration: 0:06:12
    • 10:43 p.m.
      Title: Ad-Lib Blues
      Performer(s): Lester Young (Tenor Saxophone)
      Duration: 0:03:37
    • 10:47 p.m.
      Title: The Bridge
      Performer(s): Scott Walker (Vocals)
      Duration: 0:03:05
    • 10:50 p.m.
      Title: Burning Man
      Performer(s): Richard Thompson (Vocal, Guitar)
      Duration: 0:04:38
    • 11:05 p.m.
      Title: Une Barque Sur L'océan
      Performer(s): Gerard Mcchrystal (Saxophone)
      Duration: 0:08:26
    • 11:13 p.m.
      Title: Reverie --
      Performer(s): Anne Queffélec (Piano)
      Duration: 0:04:30
    • 11:17 p.m.
      Title: Gnossiennes (3Rd Movement)
      Performer(s): Not Available
      Duration: 0:02:35
    • 11:21 p.m.
      Title: Down The Wagon Way/Sweet Jane/The North Downs Way
      Performer(s): Chris Wood
      Duration: 0:11:48
    • 11:33 p.m.
      Title: Coming Down
      Performer(s): Anais Mitchell (Vocals, Guitar)
      Duration: 0:03:21
    • 11:38 p.m.
      Title: Everybody Cryin' Mercy
      Performer(s): Mose Allison (Vocals, Piano)
      Duration: 0:02:58
    • 11:42 p.m.
      Title: Ricercare A 6 (The Musical Offering)
      Performer(s): Maria Mosconi (Alto), Arnaud Thorette (Violin)
      Duration: 0:06:58
    • 11:57 p.m.
      Title: Once I Loved (O Amor N Paz)
      Performer(s): Antonio Carlos Jobim (Guitar)
      Duration: 0:03:50
    • 12:02 a.m.
      Title: Love -- Not Available
      Performer(s): Shivkumar Sharma (Santoor)
      Duration: 0:06:14
    • 12:08 a.m.
      Title: The West Coast Of Clare
      Performer(s): Andy Irvine (Vocals)
      Duration: 0:05:49
    • 12:14 a.m.
      Title: Cherry Coloured Funk (Seefeel Remix)
      Performer(s): Cocteau Twins
      Duration: 0:05:52
    • 12:20 a.m.
      Title: My One And Only Love
      Performer(s): Linda Sharrock (Vocals)
      Duration: 0:04:47
    • 12:25 a.m.
      Title: Un Sueno En La Floresta
      Performer(s): Johannes Moller (Guitar)
      Duration: 0:08:00
    • 12:36 a.m.
      Title: Head & Heart
      Performer(s): Vashti Bunyan
      Album: Johnny Boy Would Love This (A Tribute to John Martyn)
      Duration: 0:04:54
    • 12:41 a.m.
      Title: Go Down Easy -- Not Available
      Performer(s): Beth Orton (Vocal)
      Duration: 0:03:24
    • 12:44 a.m.
      Title: Bless the Weather
      Performer(s): John Martyn
      Album: May You Never - The Very Best of John Martyn
      Duration: 0:04:40
    • 12:51 a.m.
      Title: San Antonio
      Performer(s): Arne Jansen (Guitars), Andreas Edelmann (Bass), Eric Schaefer (Drums)
      Duration: 0:03:16
    • 12:54 a.m.
      Title: Man In A Shed
      Composer: Drake
      Performer(s): Nick Drake
      Album: Five Leaves Left, Island, IMCD8
      Duration: 0:04:04

    The Blue of the Night with Eamonn Lenihan

    Latest Show

    The Blue of the Night with Eamonn Lenihan on Twitter

    Schedule Open Schedule