Meath's Emma Duggan, Donegal’s Niamh McLaughlin and Kerry’s Louise Ní Mhuircheartaigh will battle it out to be named 2022 TG4 Senior Players’ Player of the Year after the shortlist for the three grades were announced.

Duggan is aiming to follow in the footsteps of Royal team-mate Vikki Wall who won the award last year, while McLaughlin and Ní Mhuircheartaigh will aim to become the first players from their county to ever win one of the top awards at any level.

All three have also been nominated for All-Star awards.

Duggan played a key role for the Royal County once again, notching 1-12 along the way, as they retained the Brendan Martin Cup, while Ní Mhuircheartaigh’s red-hot scoring form played a big part in Kerry’s march to a first final since 2012.

McLaughlin was also a towering figure for her Donegal, as they contested a national league final against Meath before advancing to the All-Ireland semi-final.

The intermediate award will definitely be going to Laois as the final three, Aisling Donoher, Erone Fitzpatrick and Mo Nerney, all hail from the O’Moore County.

The Intermediate award will be going to Laois

Nerney, who is also in the running for an All-Star, is nominated along with team-mates Donoher, player of the patch in the All-Ireland final victory over Wexford, and Erone Fitzpatrick, who scored 4-15 en-route to Croke Park glory.

The junior category has an Ulster feel to it as champions Antrim are represented by team captain Cathy Carey while beaten finalists Fermanagh have two player short-listed in Bláithín Bogue and Eimear Smyth.

Smyth has won the award twice previously, in 2019 and 2020.

The nominees in all three categories have all been selected by their fellow players, who could not vote for their own team-mates.

The winners will be revealed at an awards banquet, in association with Lidl, at The Bonnington Hotel on Saturday, 19 November.

Meath lead the way with 13 nominations on the list of 45 nominees for All-Star awards. Kerry received 11 nominations and Donegal six. Mayo have five players on the shortlist, Armagh four while Dublin and Kerry have two each.

The list is completed by a nomination each for Connacht champs Galway and Laois, who landed the All-Ireland Intermediate title.