Fiona Doyle was last night named High Performance Athlete of the Year at the Swim Ireland annual awards in the Strand Hotel, Limerick.

Doyle, who is originally from Limerick but based at the University of Calgary in Canada, had an outstanding year in 2013.

She won a silver medal at the World University Games in Kazan, Russia in July, Ireland’s first world swimming medal in over 20 years.

Following this she went on to make semi-finals in the 50m and 100m breaststroke at the FINA World Swimming Championships in Barcelona.

The 22-year-old won national titles in the 50m, 100m and 200m breaststroke in April as well as setting a number of Irish records throughout the year.

To top off her year, Doyle was invited to represent Europe at the “2013 Duel in the Pool”, a bi-annual competition where the Europeans compete against the USA.

Swim Ireland’s National Aquatic Centre performance coach, Paul Donovan, was named High Performance Coach of the Year.

Donovan coaches 34 swimmers at the centre, including European bronze-medallist Barry Murphy and Irish record-holders Andrew Meegan, Brendan Hyland and Bethany Carson.

A total of 17 awards were handed out on the night including Disability Swimmer of the Year to Darragh McDonald for his gold-medal performance at the World Paralympic Swimming Championships.

Ulster Region Club of the Year: Lisburn ASC

Leinster Region Club of the Year: NACSC

Munster Region Club of the Year: Ennis SC

Connacht Region Club of the Year: Tuam SC

Masters Outstanding Achievement Award: Declan Harte (NAC SC)

Water Polo Outstanding Achievement Award: Tommy Kirk (Donegall ASC) & Ben Kealy (Half Moon WPC)

Open Water Swimmer of the Year: Chris Bryan (Ennis SC & UL Sport PC)

Local Media Award: Laois Nationalist

Media Award: David Kelly (Belfast Telegraph/Irish Independent)

Volunteer of the Year (Club/Regional): Mary Phelan (Seal SC)

Club Coach of the Year: Johnny Powell (Athlone SC)

Club Athlete of the Year: Iseult Hayes (Sundays Well SC)

Volunteer of the Year (National): Eugene Hillick (City of Derry ASC)

High Performance Coach of the Year: Paul Donovan (NAC Performance Centre)

Disability Swimmer of the Year: Darragh McDonald (UCD SC)

High Performance Swimmer of the Year: Fiona Doyle (Portmarnock SC)

Club of the Year: Ennis SC

Hall of Fame Inductee 2014: Tony Farrell

Special Recognition: Sarah Keane