Shelbourne defender Jessie Stapleton, Celtic's Isibeal Atkinson and Birmingham City forward Emily Whelan have all been drafted into the Republic of Ireland squad for their upcoming 2023 FIFA Women's World Cup qualifying double header.

Stapleton, 16, is included for the first time following an impressive debut season for Shels in the SSE Airtricity Women's National League and stand-out performances at the Ireland WNT Home-Based sessions.

She won the Player of the Month Award for October and featured three times for the Irish Under-19s last month.

Injuries rule out Glasgow City's Claire Walsh, Wexford Youths midfielder Ellen Molloy, who played a starring role in her side's FAI Cup win yesterday, and Liverpool forward Leanne Kiernan.

Former England Under-17, U-19 & U-23 goalkeeper Megan Walsh is named in the squad after receiving international clearance from FIFA to make the switch.

The Brighton & Hove Albion stopper - who holds the WSL record for most saves - qualifies for Ireland through her Wexford-born grandfather, William Walsh.

Midfielder Jess Ziu has also been added to the squad.

The squad trained at the FAI National Training Centre this afternoon ahead of taking on Slovakia on Thursday and then Georgia on Tuesday, 30 November.

Both games are at Tallaght Stadium and are live on RTÉ2 and RTÉ Player.

Third seeds Ireland have made a good start to their Group A qualifying campaign, recording a 1-0 home defeat to frontrunners Sweden and winning 2-1 at higher-ranked Finland.

Republic of Ireland squad

Goalkeepers: Courtney Brosnan (Everton), Grace Moloney (Reading), Megan Walsh (Brighton & Hove Albion)

Defenders: Louise Quinn (Birmingham City), Niamh Fahey (Liverpool), Diane Caldwell (North Carolina Courage), Jessie Stapleton (Shelbourne), Savannah McCarthy (Galway WFC), Éabha O'Mahony (Boston College), Áine O'Gorman (Peamount United)Midfielders: Katie McCabe (Arsenal), Denise O'Sullivan (North Carolina Courage), Megan Connolly (Brighton & Hove Albion), Ruesha Littlejohn (Aston Villa), Jamie Finn (Birmingham City), Niamh Farrelly (Glasgow City), Ciara Grant (Shelbourne), Aoibheann Clancy (Wexford Youths), Roma McLaughlin (Central Connecticut State University), Jess Ziu (Shelbourne)

Forwards: Heather Payne (Florida State University), Amber Barrett (FC Koln), Kyra Carusa (HB Koge), Emily Whelan (Birmingham City) Isibeal Atkinson (Celtic), Saoirse Noonan (Shelbourne), Lucy Quinn (Birmingham City)