Andrew Omobamidele was handed his first Republic of Ireland start for tonight's World Cup qualifier against Serbia at the Aviva Stadium.

The young Norwich defender came on as a substitute in last week's 2-1 defeat in Portugal following an injury to Dara O'Shea, who has been ruled out for four to six months with a fractured ankle.

The 19-year-old Omobamidele sat out Saturday's game against Azerbaijan but returns to the heart of the defence to play alongside Shane Duffy and John Egan. Ireland captain Seamus Coleman played in the three-man defence on Saturday, however, he has been ruled out injured along with striker Aaron Connolly.

Matt Doherty and James McClean look likely to play as wing-backs on the right and left flank respectively, while Jeff Hendrick and Jamie McGrath return to the team in midfield to play alongside Josh Cullen.

Alan Browne also comes into the side with Adam Idah leading the line for Ireland.

Callum Robinson is again on the bench, as is Liam Scales who would make his senior international debut if he makes an appearance.

Serbia, as expected, have named a very attacking side, coming to Dublin looking for all three points, with their talismanic striker Aleksandar Mitrovic set to start.

The Fulham forward was considered a doubt having picked up a head injury in Saturday's win over Luxembourg.

Captain Dušan Tadic, Manchester City €70m target Dušan Vlahovic and attacking midfielder Sergej Milinkovic-Savic all start in what is a very forward-thinking side.

Republic of Ireland: Gavin Bazunu; Shane Duffy, John Egan, Andrew Omobamidele; Matt Doherty, Josh Cullen,Jamie McGrath, Jeff Hendrick, James McClean; Alan Browne, Adam Idah

Subs: Caoimhin Kelher, James Talbot, Ryan Manning, Conor Hourihane, Troy Parrott, Callum Robinson, Cyrus Christie, Daryl Horgan, Jayson Muumby, James Collins, Harry Arter, Liam Scales

Serbia: Predrag Rajkovic; Strahinja Pavlovic, Nikola Milenkovic, Nemanja Gudelj, Aleksandar Mitrovic, Dušan Tadic, Miloš Veljkovic, Filip Kostic, Dušan Vlahovic, Sergej Milinkovic-Savic, Filip Djuricic

Subs: Marko Dmitrovic (GK), Mile Svilar, Filip Mladenovic, Ivan Ilic, Nemanja Maksimovic, Nemanja Radonjic, Luka Jovic, Stefan Mitrovic, Uroš Racic, Saša Lukic, Mihailo Ristic, Darko Lazovic