Dundalk's Michael Duffy took home the Premier Division Player of the Year award at the PFAI awards in the Marker Hotel in Dublin tonight. 

The Derry born midfielder shone for the double winners in 2018, hitting 13 goals and picking up two Player of the Month gongs in April and August. 

He finished the year with his first League of Ireland Premier Division medal having signed for Dundalk from Celtic at the beginning of the 2017 season.

This week, Republic of Ireland manager Martin O'Neill described Duffy as an "exceptionally talented player", noting that the "paperwork was there" on his switch of allegiance from Northern Ireland to the Republic of Ireland. 

Duffy made 12 underage appearances for Northern Ireland and was called up to their senior squad for a World Cup qualifier in 2016 but this year said he wished to switch to the Republic. 

The Young Player of the Year award went to Duffy's Dundalk teammate Jamie McGrath. The 22-year old signed for the champions from St Patrick's Athletic at the end of 2016 and has become an increasingly influential presence since. UCD's Gary O'Neill won the First Division player of the year award. 

Unsurprisingly, the Premier Division manager of the year award went to Stephen Kenny once more. The Dubliner led Dundalk to the second league and cup double of his reign and a fourth league title in five years. 

UCD's Collie O'Neill took the First Division manager of the year award, having led the students back to the Premier Division. 

Áine O'Gorman, who retired from international football this year after earning a century of caps, was honoured with a special achievement award. 

Denise O'Sullivan, who won the US NWSL championship with North Carolina Courage this year, won the International Women's Footballer of the Year award. Her international teammate Rianna Jarrett took home the Continental Tyres Women's National League player of the year last night.