Josh van der Flier and Sam Monaghan were the big winners at this year's Rugby Players Ireland awards, winning the Accenture XV's Player's Player of the Year prizes.

Van der Flier had been nominated for the men's prize alongside his Leinster teammates Caelan Doris and Hugo Keenan, as well as Connacht wing Mack Hansen.

The 29-year-old, who was this week also nominated for EPCR European Player of the Year award, played every minute of Ireland's Six Nations campaign, scoring tries against both France and Scotland.

"I have many great memories from what has been a special year for me, on both a personal and professional level," he said.

"To be acknowledged by my teammates and opponents in this way is particularly humbling. A special word of thanks to my fiancé and family who continue to help guide me through."

Second-row Monaghan was voted by her peers after a breakthrough Six Nations campaign, where she topped the tournament count in carriers, and finished inside the top five for tackles.

The Wasps lock also produced a number of highlight-reel offloads, with just three players making more in the tournament.

Monaghan claimed the senior women's prize ahead of nominees Linda Djougang and Eve Higgins, but Higgins did get voted as Whoop Young Player of the Year, having been nominated alongside Neve Jones and Aoibheann Reilly.

The Nevin Spence Men's XV Young Player of the Year for 2021/22 is Connacht flanker Cian Prendergast, with this year marking the 10th anniversary of Nevin's passing.

Among the other awards handed out tonight, Caelan Doris's try (above) against New Zealand last November was picked as the Men's Try of the Year, while Eve Higgins won a second award on the night with her score against France in the Six Nations voted the best women's try of the season.

Listen to the RTÉ Rugby podcast on Apple Podcasts, Soundcloud, Spotify or wherever you get your podcasts.

Follow Leinster v Munster (Saturday 7.15pm) in the United Rugby Championship via our live blog on RTÉ.ie/Sport and the RTÉ News app live or listen live on RTÉ Radio 1. Watch Connacht v Zebre (Saturday 5pm) on RTÉ2 and RTÉ Player.