Cliodhna Moloney and Sene Naoupou have both been left out of Ireland's squad for the opening rounds of the TikTok Women's Six Nations.

The pair are the most high profile omissions from Greg McWilliams's first squad since becoming head coach.

Wasps hooker Moloney played in all eight Ireland games in 2021, but made headlines in November when she described comments made by women's director Anthony Eddy as "slurry spreading".

Eddy resigned from his role today ahead of tomorrow's publication of the independent review into Ireland's failure to qualify for the World Cup in New Zealand.

While Moloney has been a key player for Ireland in recent years, the 28-year-old has been surprisingly dropped by McWilliams, although the IRFU have not given a reason for her omission.

Sevens veteran Sene Naoupou is also not included, having been a mainstay of the Irish midfield in recent years while Gloucester's back row Anna Caplice is also left out.

There are nine uncapped players included in the squad, with forwards Christy Haney, Amanda McQuade, Anna McGann, Aoife Wafer, Emma Murphy and backs Aoibheann Reilly, Natasja Behan, Molly Scuffil-McCabe and Vicky Irwin.

Ireland get their campaign under way against Wales on Saturday 26 March, before travelling to France in Round 2 a week later.

Ireland squad:

Forwards (20):

Amanda McQuade (Railway Union RFC/Ulster)

Chloe Pearse (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)

Linda Djougang (ASM Romagnat Rugby/Leinster)

Christy Haney (Blackrock College RFC/Leinster)

Claire Boles (Railway Union RFC/Ulster)

Emma Hooban (Blackrock College RFC/Leinster)

Neve Jones (Gloucester-Hartpury/Ulster)

Nichola Fryday (Exeter Chiefs/Connacht)

Sam Monaghan (Wasps/IQ Rugby)

Aoife McDermott (Railway Union RFC/Leinster)

Anna McGann (Railway Union RFC/Ulster)

Grace Moore (Railway Union RFC/IQ Rugby)

Dorothy Wall (Blackrock College RFC/Munster)

Aoife Wafer (Blackrock College RFC/Leinster)

Brittany Hogan (Old Belvedere RFC/Ulster)

Emma Murphy (Railway Union RFC/Leinster)

Edel McMahon (Wasps/IQ Rugby)

Maeve Óg O'Leary (Blackrock College RFC/Munster)

Hannah O’Connor (Blackrock College RFC/Leinster)

Katie O'Dwyer (Railway Union/Leinster)

Backs (18):

Aoibheann Reilly (Blackrock College RFC/Connacht)

Kathryn Dane (Old Belvedere RFC/Ulster)

Ailsa Hughes (Railway Union RFC/Leinster)

Nicole Cronin (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)

Nikki Caughey (Railway Union RFC/Leinster)

Enya Breen (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)

Stacey Flood (Railway Union RFC/Leinster)

Michelle Claffey (Blackrock College RFC/Leinster)

Eve Higgins (Railway Union RFC/Leinster)

Lucy Mulhall (Wicklow RFC/Leinster)

Beibhinn Parsons (Blackrock College RFC/Connacht)

Amee-Leigh Murphy Crowe (Railway Union RFC/Munster)

Aoife Doyle (Railway Union RFC/Munster)

Natasja Behan (Blackrock College RFC/Leinster)

Lauren Delany (Sale Sharks/IQ Rugby)

Eimear Considine (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)

Molly Scuffil-McCabe (Railway Union RFC/Leinster)

Vicky Irwin (Sale Sharks/IQ Rugby)