Northampton Saints out-half Dan Biggar has been named as Wales captain for this season's Guinness Six Nations.

Biggar, who could make his 100th Welsh cap in the championship, takes over from the injured Alun Wyn Jones, who is among a number of high-profile absentees.

Other players not part of the squad due to injuries are Jones’ fellow British and Irish Lions George North, Leigh Halfpenny, Ken Owens, Josh Navidi, Justin Tipuric and Taulupe Faletau.

But flanker Ross Moriarty, who has not played since the autumn due to a shoulder problem, does make Wales head coach Wayne Pivac’s 36-man group.

The squad includes three uncapped players in hooker Dewi Lake, his Ospreys colleague – flanker Jac Morgan – and Cardiff number eight James Ratti.

Ulster's Bradley Roberts has also been named in the squad having made his debut during the Autumn Nations Series.

The South African-born hooker was a surprise call-up in 2021 after a series of injuries in the Welsh camp, and is in line to make his Six Nations bow in the coming months.

Wales head coach Wayne Pivac said: "We are excited to get back together as a squad when we meet up on Monday.

"The Guinness Six Nations is a very special competition and we want to go out and win, like every other nation. This is tournament rugby, so it's about working hard in training and preparing well each week.

"Last year the Six Nations offered fans an exciting brand of rugby with lots of tries and, while we know we have five tough matches ahead and the margins in Test rugby are fine, we are looking forward to the challenge.

"With the World Cup on the horizon next year, every match will be important for development on the road to France.

On the captain Pivac said: "In terms of captaincy we’ve named Dan Biggar. With the experience missing with some players out injured, we wanted someone who had experienced the competition on a number of occasions and knows the rigours of it. He gives us that – he has 95 Wales caps and he’s toured with the British and Irish Lions.

"Dan has the respect of the other players and management so we think he’ll do a great job."


Rhys Carre (Cardiff Rugby), Wyn Jones (Scarlets), Gareth Thomas (Ospreys), Ryan Elias (Scarlets), Dewi Lake (Ospreys), Bradley Roberts (Ulster Rugby), Leon Brown (Dragons), Tomas Francis (Osprey), Dillon Lewis (Cardiff Rugby), Adam Beard (Ospreys), Ben Carter (Dragons), Seb Davies (Cardiff Rugby), Will Rowlands (Dragons), Christ Tshiunza (Exeter Chiefs), Taine Basham (Dragons), Ellis Jenkins (Cardiff Rugby), Jac Morgan (Ospreys), Ross Moriarty (Dragons), James Ratti (Cardiff Rugby), Aaron Wainwright (Dragons)

Backs: Gareth Davies (Scarlets), Kieran Hardy (Scarlets), Tomos Williams (Cardiff Rugby), Gareth Anscombe (Ospreys), Dan Biggar (Northampton Saints), Rhys Priestland (Cardiff Rugby), Callum Sheedy (Bristol Bears), Jonathan Davies (Scarlets), Uilisi Halaholo (Cardiff Rugby), Nick Tompkins (Saracens), Owen Watkin (Ospreys), Josh Adams (Cardiff Rugby), Alex Cuthbert (Ospreys), Louis Rees-Zammit (Gloucester Rugby). Johnny McNicholl (Scarlets), Liam Williams (Scarlets)

Additional reporting: PA