Former Munster and Ireland out-half Ronan O'Gara is set to be inducted into the World Rugby Hall of Fame.

The Cork man earned 128 caps for Ireland in a 13-year international career and is the country's all-time record points scorer (1,083).

He kicked a memorable late drop-goal to secure victory over Wales in Cardiff in 2009, which secured Ireland's first Grand Slam in 61 years, and also went on three British & Irish Lions tours.

At provincial level, O'Gara was pivotal in Munster's European Cup triumphs in 2006 and 2008, and won three Celtic League titles.

Since his retirement in 2013, O'Gara has worked as an assistant coach with Racing 92 in Paris and recent Super Rugby champions Crusaders in New Zealand.

Liza Burgess (Wales), Stephen Larkham (Australia), Pierre Villepreux (France) and Bryan Williams (New Zealand) will all also be inducted into the Hall of Fame on 12 September in Rugby, England.

The five inductees bring the total members to 142 since it began in 2006. 

O'Gara becomes the 12th Irish inductee, following Brian O'Driscoll, Basil Maclear, Fergus Slattery, Tom Kiernan, Keith Wood, Ronnie Dawson, Mike Gibson, Syd Millar, Tony O'Reilly, Willie-John McBride and Jack Kyle.

World Rugby Chairman and Hall of Fame inductee Bill Beaumont said: "The World Rugby Hall of Fame importantly acknowledges and celebrates the true legends of the game, celebrating those who have made outstanding contributions throughout their careers while embodying rugby’s values. 

"On behalf of the rugby family we would like to congratulate this year’s five new inductees as they are recognised and honoured for their immense contributions to rugby.

"Each have left their mark on the sport and through their achievements and character, inspired millions to play and support rugby worldwide, and we look forward to honouring them in the coming weeks."