Players from Ulster, Munster and Leinster make up almost half of the RaboDirect PRO12 team of the year.

Current table toppers and defending champions Leinster provide three of the pack with Sean Cronin, Rhys Ruddock and Jordi Murphy all selected.

Departing centre Casey Laulala and loosehead prop Dave Kilcoyne represent Munster, while Ulster’s Andrew Trimble is picked alongside Johann Muller, who was named as skipper.

The team was selected by a media panel made up of three Irish, three Welsh, two Scottish and one Italian Rugby writer.

RaboDirect PRO12 Dream Team

15 - Liam Williams (Scarlets)
14 – Jeff Hassler (Ospreys)
13 – Casey Laulala (Munster)
12 – Alex Dunbar (Glasgow Warriors)
11 – Andrew Trimble (Ulster)
10 – Dan Biggar (Ospreys)
9 - Gareth Davies (Scarlets)
1 – Dave Kilcoyne (Munster)
2 – Sean Cronin (Leinster)
3 – Samson Lee (Scarlets)
4 – Johann Muller (Ulster) (Capt)
5 – Alun-Wyn Jones (Ospreys)
6 – Rhys Ruddock (Leinster)
7 – Jordi Murphy (Leinster)
8 – Robin Copeland (Cardiff Blues)