Munster flanker Peter O’Mahony, Leinster lock Devin Toner and Ulster winger Andrew Trimble have been nominated for the Irish Rugby Union Players' Association’s players’ player of the year award.

Votes for the nominees will be collected from entire professional player body across the country.

Chairman of IRUPA, Rob Kearney: “All awards presented on the night are hugely significant, as there is no higher accolade than being recognized by your peers who you go into battle with each week. The Hibernia College Player of the Year Award is particularly coveted as it represents the one outstanding performer in all of Irish rugby as voted by all fellow players”.

The award is one of ten, including three new categories, which will be announced at the sell-out ceremony hosted by Scott Quinnell on Wednesday 7 May at Dublin’s Hilton Hotel.

The young player of the year award, named in memory of the late Nevin Spence, will be contested by Connacht’s Robbie Henshaw and the Leinster duo of Jack McGrath and Jordi Murphy.

Candidates for the try of the year accolade include JJ Hanrahan for his last-gasp try for Munster against against Perpignan to secure a home quarter-final in the Heineken Cup, Rob Kearney’s intercept try during Ireland’s defeat to New Zealand and Jonny Sexton’s second try against France which secured the RBS 6 Nations title for Ireland.