No Irish players have been nominated for the ERC European Player of the Year award, with the shortlist composed entirely of representatives of Heineken Cup finalists Saracens and Toulon.

The Saracens trio of Chris Ashton, Schalk Brits and Jacques Burger, and Toulon's Steffon Armitage are joined on the shortlist by last season's winner, Jonny Wilkinson.

Munster’s Paul O’Connell had been the only Irish player nominated to the longlist for the award.

In addition to the decision of the panel, the 44 clubs in the Heineken Cup and the Amlin Challenge Cup will have the opportunity to vote for the candidates on the shortlist while European club rugby fans can also have their say on Twitter using #ERCPlayer2014, as well as on the Heineken Cup and Amlin Challenge Cup Facebook pages.

The winner will be announced shortly after next month’s Heineken and Amlin Cup finals.

ERC European Player of the Year shortlist

Jacques Burger (Saracens)
Chris Ashton (Saracens)
Schalk Brits (Saracens)
Jonny Wilkinson (Toulon)
Steffon Armitage (Toulon)