Minister for Arts, Sport and Tourism John O’Donoghue, has officially opened the National Rowing Centre (NRC) at Farran Wood, Inniscara in Cork.

The new facility will provide a world class rowing centre for the full spectrum of Irish rowing.

It will host national and international competitions, and will serve as a centre of excellence for the Irish rowing’s high performance programme from the junior ranks right through to the senior stars.

The magnificent centre has been fully funded by the Government under the Sports Capital Programme, with over €5.4million allocated to the project since work began in 2000.

The first event on the calendar for the newly opened NRC will be Cork Regatta in July, while it will host the first of its international visitors when it stages the Home Internationals with athletes from England, Scotland, and Wales. In 2008 the European Junior Championships; the ‘Coupe de La Jeunesse’ will be staged at the centre.

The Irish coach has named his team for the first two regattas of the upcoming three leg World Cup series.

Ireland will send six boats to the first and second World Cup regattas, which take place in Austria and the Netherlands respectively, in June.

The lightweight four that claimed bronze at last year’s World Championships sees one change with Richard Coakley, younger brother of Eugene, coming in to replace Gearoid Towey, who is not competing this season.


Irish Senior Team for World Cup 1 & 2

World Cup 1 Linz, Austria from 1-3 June
World Cup 2 Amsterdam, The Netherlands from 22-24 June
World Cup 3 Lucerne, Switzerland from 13-15 July
World Rowing Championships Munich, Germany from 26 Aug – 2 Sep 

Heavyweight Men’s Four (M4-)
Alan Martin (NUIG)
Sean Casey (Muckross)
Cormac Folan (NUIG)
Sean O'Neill (St Michael's)

Lightweight Men’s Four (LM4-)
Paul Griffin (Muckross)
Richard Archibald (Lady Victoria BC)
Richard Coakley (Skibbereen)
Eugene Coakley (Skibbereen)
Reserve: Cathal Moynihan (Neptune)

Heavyweight Men's Single Scull (M1x)
Sean Jacob (Commercial)

Lightweight Women’s Double Scull (LW2x)
Niamh NiCheilleachair (Castleconnell)
Sinéad Jennings (St Michael’s)
Reserve: Orla Duddy (Belfast)

Women’s Heavyweight Double (W2x)
Helen Walshe (UCD)
Caroline Ryan (Garda)

Men’s Heavyweight Quad (M4x)
Paul Murray (NUIG)
Paul O’Brien (Garda)
Con Collis (UCD)
James Wall (NUIG)

Manager: Michael O’Callaghan
Coaches: Harald Jahrling, Debbie Fox
Doctor: Siobhan Jacob
Physio: Sarah-Jane McDonnell