All-Ireland champions Limerick top the list of nominations for this year's PwC All-Star Hurling Awards with 14 nominees.

It's a reward for a completely dominant season which saw the Treaty City men win all 10 of their games as they won a second All-Ireland title in three seasons, and defended their Munster and Allianz League crowns.

Beaten All-Ireland finalists Waterford managed ten nominations, followed by Galway (7) and Leinster champions Kilkenny (5).

Cork, Tipperary, Clare and Dublin are the other counties represented.

Meanwhile, the shortlist for the PwC GAA/GPA Hurler of the Year Award has also been revealed, with Limerick's Gearóid Hegarty, Clare's Tony Kelly and Waterford's Stephen Bennett going for the ultimate individual prize.

Tony Kelly showed exceptional form in last year's championship

Kilkenny's Eoin Cody, Waterford’s Iarlaith Daly and Tipperary’s Jake Morris are up for the the PwC GAA/GPA Young Hurler of the Year Award

Uachtarán CLG, John Horan said: "Sport was one of the few unforgettable elements to an otherwise forgettable 2020 and yet again the hurling campaign was a highlight.

"The PwC All-Stars provide an opportunity to salute the standout performers who lit up the campaign and gave so much excitement and I congratulate all of those who have been nominated and it is a big day for them and their clubs."

Paul Flynn, chief executive of the GPA said: "To all 45 players who have been nominated for PwC All-Star Awards, my heartiest congratulations. The 2020 season was one like no other and their efforts on the pitch meant so much to so many.

"Congratulations also to the nominees for both the PwC Hurler of the Year and the PwC Young Hurler of the Year."

Gaelic Games correspondents from across, print, radio, TV and digital media voted on the players to be included in the list.

The nominations for the football All-Star team were released on Friday, with the awards set to be handed out at a ceremony next month.

Full list of nominations

Goalkeepers: Stephen O’Keeffe (Waterford), Nickie Quaid (Limerick), Eibhear Quilligan (Clare).

Defenders: Seán Finn (Limerick), Dan Morrissey (Limerick), Barry Nash (Limerick), Diarmuid Byrnes (Limerick), Declan Hannon (Limerick), Kyle Hayes (Limerick), Conor Prunty (Waterford), Shane McNulty (Waterford), Calum Lyons (Waterford), Tadhg De Burcá (Waterford), Daithí Burke (Galway), Aidan Harte (Galway), Pádraic Mannion (Galway), Conor Delaney (Kilkenny), Padraig Walsh (Kilkenny), Rory Hayes (Clare), Mark Coleman (Cork), Ronan Maher (Tipperary).

Midfielders:  Will O’Donoghue (Limerick), Cian Lynch (Limerick), Jamie Barron (Waterford), Tony Kelly (Clare), Michael Breen (Tipperary), Conor Browne (Kilkenny).

Forwards: Gearóid Hegarty (Limerick), Tom Morrissey (Limerick), Aaron Gillane (Limerick), Seamus Flanagan (Limerick), Graeme Mulcahy (Limerick), Stephen Bennett (Waterford), Dessie Hutchinson (Waterford), Austin Gleeson (Waterford), Jack Fagan (Waterford), Brian Concannon (Galway), Joe Canning (Galway), Conor Whelan (Galway), Cathal Mannion (Galway), TJ Reid (Kilkenny), John Donnelly (Kilkenny), Donal Burke (Dublin), Cathal Malone (Clare), Shane Kingston (Cork).