The Sunday Game have chosen Gearóid Hegarty as their Player of the Year, while the team is dominated by newly crowned All-Ireland champions Limerick. 

Hegarty was also named man of the match from the victory over Waterford

The Treaty County provide nine players, with Tadhg de Búrca, Jamie Barron and Stephen Bennett representing finalists Waterford. 

Galway, Kilkenny and Clare have a sole representative each, with Daithi Burke, ace marksman TJ Reid and Banner talisman Tony Kelly all recognised for their outstanding campaigns. 

Sunday Game Team of the Year

1. Nickie Quaid (Limerick)

Ten years after making his inter-county debut, the Treaty shot-stopper looks set for his first All Star. Before that, a place on the Sunday Game Team of the Year will have to suffice for influential shotstopper.

2. Sean Finn (Limerick)

Three years of championship hurling, two All-Ireland medals and without doubt a third successive All Star on the way. The best corner-back in the business and still only 24.

3. Dan Morrissey (Limerick)

Many would argue that full-back is the most niche position on the pitch, but the Ahane man has slotted in at the edge of the square seamlessly from his wing-back role. Unflustered throughout 2020, he breathes confidence through the Limerick defence.

4. Daithi Burke (Galway)

A colossus in the full-back line for Galway. Regularly tasked with snuffing out the main scoring threat of the opposition and more often than not, comes out the better of the exchanges. 

5. Diarmuid Byrnes (Limerick)

The Patrickswell man is always good for a long-range score, be it from play or placed balls, but is very much under-rated as a defender. Always alert to danger and breaking balls in the middle third, another highly consistent performer in John Kiely's team.

6. Tadhg de Búrca (Waterford)

It's hard to see how Waterford could have won even if injury hadn't cut short his All-Ireland final appearance, but such is de Burca's influence on the team, it felt like a mortal blow for the Déise. A superb reader of the game who nearly always makes the correct decision on the ball.

7. Kyle Hayes (Limerick)

The second Limerick defender on the team to slot into a different position and make it look like he has been there for years, though the former forward did spend some of his underage days with Limerick in the half-back line. Athletic up and down the wings, powerful in the air, imposing around breaking balls and always available for an overlapping pass, Hayes has taken his game to a new level.

8. Cian Lynch (Limerick)

A joy to behold in full flight. The 2018 Hurler of the Year has all the deft touches, pinpoint passing and accurate shooting to go with a ferocious work-rate. 

9. Jamie Barron (Waterford)

Even when the going got tough against Limerick - and it was an uphill task for large swathes of the game at times - Barron was never found wanting. The midfield dynamo tore through Cork, Clare and Kilkenny in particular and can be pleased with his personal contribution to Waterford's revival this year.

10. Tom Morrissey (Limerick)

Five points from play in both the All-Ireland final and semi-final is probably enough to get the vote, but Morrissey is much more than a reliable scorer. The second Morrissey on the team is a danger on his own puckouts, as well as the opposition's, and has built up a serious understanding with those around him in the middle third for Limerick. Despite his accuracy, his first option is always to see if there is a team-mate in a better position.

11. TJ Reid (Kilkenny)

The sole Kilkenny representative on the team. Aside from perhaps Clare and Tony Kelly - and we will get to him - no other team with ambitions of Liam MacCarthy is as reliant on a single player as Kilkenny are on their Ballyhale ace. Whether it is scoring or creating, most successful attacks seem to go through the 33-year-old.

12. Gearóid Hegarty (Limerick)

One of the great All-Ireland final displays. The rangy St Patrick's man nailed seven points from play, which was was more than the Waterford starting attack combined and simply tore the Deise defence to shreds. Ghosted around the field with pace and panache and in a team of high performers, Hegarty was the main man in 2020.

13. Stephen Bennett (Waterford)

A revelation for Waterford this year. Limerick may have limited his influence in the final, but he kept his team hanging on from frees and can reflect on a strong season under Liam Cahill. Ensured Pauric Mahony's loss wasn't felt from a free-taking perspective.

14. Aaron Gillane (Limerick)

There were fears that the heavy knock sustained against Galway would rule him out of the final, but he showed no ill-effects in another storming display. Six frees, four points from play and Waterford were at times chasing shadows. Just like Galway, Tipperary and Clare before them.

15. Tony Kelly (Clare)

Clare bowed out at the quarter-final stage, but the Ballyea man couldn't have done any more for the cause, with a remarkable scoring haul of 1-54 (1-18 coming from play) in Clare's first three games of the campaign before injury curtailed his influence against Waterford, where he still picked off eight points.

Kelly of course operated in midfield, so has been afforded a roving role in a two-man full-forward line to essentially join Lynch and Barron in a three-man midfield.