Cork amateur James Sugrue is raring to go ahead of his second major appearance at the US Open today.

The Mallow man secured his invite to Winged Foot after winning the Amateur Championship last year.

Sugrue subsequently missed the Open cut by just one shot at Portrush and has delayed plans to turn pro so that he can compete in this week's tournament in New York and the Masters in November.  

 The Winged Foot course is notoriously difficult - Hale Irwin won the 1974 US Open here with a score of seven over par -  but the 23-year-old isn't intimidated by the prospect.

"It's very good in terms of the design and the layout of it, it’s brilliant," he told

"There is no easy hole – the par 3s are long, the par 5s are long, the par 4s are long, the rough is long, the greens are fast and slopey. Everything you could imagine to be tough about a golf course, it has.

"As daunting as I'm making it out to be, I’m still looking forward to it – I can’t wait," he says. 

"I think if I play well, it will kind of suit me, especially playing Irish golf all my life on not the easiest courses or set-ups. But it will be important to be patient."

Sugrue is one of four Irish players in the field, alongside Rory McIlroy, Shane Lowry and Graeme McDowell, and will tee off alongside Lee Westwood and two-time Masters champion Bubba Watson at 5.54pm.

McIlroy (1.07pm) is out 11 minutes before McDowell at opposite ends of the course while Lowry begins his challenge at 6.05pm. 

TEE TIMES (Irish times, US unless stated, (a) denotes amateur,)

Hole 1

1150 Curtis Luck (Aus), Brandon Wu, Ryan Fox (Nzl)
1201 Joel Dahmen, Rasmus Hojgaard (Den), JT Poston
1212 Chez Reavie, Sung Kang (Kor), Kevin Streelman
1223 Kevin Na, Jazz Janewattananond (Tha), Matt Wallace (Eng)
1234 Brendon Todd, Harris English, Davis Thompson
1245 Paul Waring (Eng), Victor Perez (Fra), Christiaan Bezuidenhout (Rsa)
1256 Patrick Reed, Hideki Matsuyama (Jpn), Jordan Spieth
1307 Collin Morikawa, Justin Thomas, Tiger Woods
1318 Matt Kuchar, Lucas Glover, Graeme McDowell (NIrl)
1329 Ryo Ishikawa (Jpn), Charles Howell III, Max Homa
1340 Kurt Kitayama, Robert Macintyre (Sco), Sandy Scott (Sco)
1351 Eddie Pepperell (Eng), Troy Merritt, Sami Valimaki (Fin)
1710 Rory Sabbatini (Svk), Shaun Norris (Rsa), Chan Kim
1721 Adam Long, Eduard Rousaud (Spa), Mike Lorenzo-Vera (Fra)
1732 Lukas Michel (Aus), Lucas Herbert (Aus), Matt Jones (Aus)
1743 Si Woo Kim (Kor), Ryan Palmer, Rafael Cabrera-Bello (Spa)
1754 Joaquin Niemann (Chi), Sungjae Im (Kor), Cameron Champ
1805 Gary Woodland, (a) Andy Ogletree, Shane Lowry (Irl)
1816 Dustin Johnson, Bryson DeChambeau, Tony Finau
1827 Phil Mickelson, Paul Casey (Eng), Jon Rahm (Spa)
1838 Rickie Fowler, Matthew Wolff, Viktor Hovland (Nor)
1849 Davis Riley, Romain Langasque (Fra), Will Zalatoris
1900 Matthias Schwab (Aut), (a) Cole Hammer, Alex Noren (Swe)
1911 Paul Barjon (Fra), Connor Syme (Sco), Marty Jertson

Hole 10

1150 Greyson Sigg, Daniel Balin, JC Ritchie (Rsa)
1201 Ricky Castillo, Brian Harman, Andy Sullivan (Eng)
1212 Tom Lewis (Eng), Preston Summerhays, Jason Kokrak
1223 Jimmy Walker, Martin Kaymer (Ger), John Augenstein
1234 Tyler Duncan, Thomas Detry (Bel), Erik Van Rooyen (Rsa)
1245 Tyrrell Hatton (Eng), Henrik Stenson (Swe), Danny Willett (Eng)
1256 Sergio Garcia (Spa), Webb Simpson, Jason Day (Aus)
1307 Rory McIlroy (NIrl), Adam Scott (Aus), Justin Rose (Eng)
1318 Ian Poulter (Eng), Patrick Cantlay, Steve Stricker
1329 Mackenzie Hughes (Can), Adam Hadwin (Can), Corey Conners (Can)
1340 Sebastian Munoz (Col), (a) Chun Ant Yu (Tpe), Justin Harding (Rsa)
1351 Dan McCarthy, Scott Hend (Aus), Ryan Vermeer
1710 Taylor Pendrith (Can), Richy Werenski, Renato Paratore (Ita)
1721 Jim Herman, John Pak, Thomas Pieters (Bel)
1732 Michael Thompson, Andrew Putnam, Chesson Hadley
1743 Marc Leishman (Aus), Bernd Wiesberger (Aut), Cameron Smith (Aus)
1754 Lee Westwood (Eng), (a) James Sugrue (Irl), Bubba Watson
1805 Daniel Berger, Matthew Fitzpatrick (Eng), Branden Grace (Rsa)
1816 Kevin Kisner, Tommy Fleetwood (Eng), Abraham Ancer (Mex)
1827 Louis Oosthuizen (Rsa), Zach Johnson, Keegan Bradley
1838 Xander Schauffele, Billy Horschel, Brandt Snedeker
1849 Shugo Imahira (Jpn), Byeong-Hun An (Kor), Takumi Kanaya (a) (Jpn)
1900 Danny Lee (Nzl), Mark Hubbard, Lanto Griffin