Golfer Shane Lowry was voted the RTÉ Sport Sportsperson of the Year after a year in which he claimed his first major title in commanding fashion in the 148th Open at Royal Portrush.

The winners of this year's RTÉ Sport Awards were announced tonight on RTÉ One television and RTÉ Player during the live broadcast of the ceremony which looked back on a year of many fine achievements for Irish sport.

The Clara man battled miserable conditions to become the fifth Irish player to lift the Claret Jug. He also won his first tournament in three and a half years with victory in the Abu Dhabi Championship at the start of the year.

Lowry paid tribute to his deceased Clara clubmate John Buckley on receiving his award.

"I am just a normal country lad from Clara and speaking of Clara, we are about to bury a very good GAA man tomorrow. I was down at the funeral today and I will be there tomorrow. I would like to dedicate this to John Buckley and his family," he said.

"Family and my hometown, my county and my country mean a lot to me."

Former Dublin Football Jim Gavin was named RTÉ Sport Manager of the Year for overseeing an unprecedented five-in-a-row All-Ireland titles and in doing so taking his place in GAA history.

Gavin's former charges Dublin made history in September when winning that fifth All-Ireland title in-a-row. After two epic final encounters with rivals Kerry, the Dubs have now taken their place as one of the greatest teams ever and tonight were named RTÉ Sport Team of the Year.

Rhys McClenaghan created history this year as he became the first Irish gymnast to medal at the World Championships, claiming a bronze medal in the pommel horse. He also booked a place at the 2020 Olympic Games by qualifying for the final earlier in the week and was named RTÉ Sport Young Sportsperson of the Year for the second year running.

Olympic 5,000m silver-medallist and former World 5,000m champion Sonia O’Sullivan received the RTÉ Sport Hall of Fame Award recognising her many achievements in an Irish singlet during an incredible career.

The RTÉ Sport Awards were presented by RTÉ's Darragh Maloney and Joanne Cantwell, and also featured a host of well-known Irish sports stars and analysts reflecting on the Irish sporting year that was.