A new GAA Task Force will seek to bring proposals for change in the structure of the football championship forward for debate at the upcoming Annual Congress in February 2022.

The proposals will be made with a view for implementation in the 2023 season. The new task force features representatives of all four provincial councils and the Gaelic Players Association.

Following Special Congress in October, where two proposed new formats failed to pass but there was a broad mood for general change, the GAA's leaders held a subsequent review.

This incorporated views on reform of the football championship, submissions from interested parties, and feedback from delegates on the floor at Special Congress itself.

That review considered the most pressing objectives of championship reform and has duly outlined some possible options that are open to the Association and specific proposals which meet those objectives.

GAA President Larry McCarthy has confirmed the appointment of a Task Force to analyse the various options identified in this context.

The Task Force members will include: Uachtarán CLG Larry McCarthy, Ciarán Mac Lochlann (Tyrone), Ger Ryan (Tipperary), Derek Kent (Wexford), Vincent Neary (Mayo), John Halbert (Cork), Ronan Sheehan (Down/ GPA), John Joe Carroll (Kerry), Tomás O Riain (Director-General/chair) and Feargal McGill (Secretary)