Keith Ricken is set to take over the Cork senior footballers after a five-person selection committee recommended that the county executive propose his appointment on a two-year term.

Ricken, who will need to be confirmed at a full county board meeting, managed the Rebels' U20s to the All-Ireland title in 2019 and a second Munster crown this year. He also led Cork IT to their sole Sigerson Cup success in 2009.

The St Vincent's club man succeeds Ronan McCarthy, who secured a surprise Munster win over Kerry in 2020 but whose tenure was cut short last month after a disappointing 2021 effort.

Ricken's selectors will be Micheál Ó Cróinín (Naomh Abán), Ray Keane (MTU / St. Finbarr's), brother of former Kerry boss Peter, James Loughrey (St. Brigid’s / Mallow), Barry Corkery (Éire Óg) and Des Cullinane (St. Nicholas) with the coach to be announced at a later date.

Of the U20 class of 2019, Maurice Shanley, Paul Ring, Sean Meehan, Brian Hartnett, Colm O'Callaghan, Damien Gore, and Cathail O'Mahony have all already played senior championship for Cork.