Cork football manager Ronan McCarthy has departed the role after four years in charge.

The Cork GAA executive confirmed on Tuesday that his term will not be extended into the final season of their two-year arrangement, agreed after the 2020 season.

Cork chairperson Marc Sheehan said: "Ronan has been an outstanding servant to Cork GAA over many years, and I would like to thank him both personally and on behalf of Cork for all that he has done.

"We wish Ronan, his selectors and backroom team all the best in their future endeavours and thank all involved for an immeasurable contribution over a number of years."

Cork said that a process will now be put in place for the appointment of a new manager.

McCarthy, who was corner back for Cork when they reached the All-Ireland final in 1999, succeeded Peadar Healy as manager after the 2017 championship.

He had previously served as a selector under Conor Counihan in 2013 and Brian Cuthbert in 2014 and 2015. McCarthy guided Carbery Rangers to a senior championship title in 2016.

The highlight of his four-year reign was undoubtedly Cork's shock defeat of Kerry in Covid-delayed 2020 championship in Páirc Uí Chaoimh last November. However, they failed to build on that seismic victory and subsequently lost the Munster final to Tipperary.

In championship terms, Cork regressed in 2021, suffering a very heavy defeat to Kerry in July's Munster final in Killarney.

It was a year marked by controversy, with McCarthy himself being hit with a 12-week suspension for breaching Covid-19 regulations after organising a team bonding session in Youghal during lockdown.

Cork were also forced to forgo home advantage for their opening Division 2 game, which they lost to Kildare in Thurles. They did at least manage to preserve their Division 2 status in 2021, having slipped into Division 3 two years earlier.

It is unknown who is to succeed McCarthy and whether there is a replacement lined up but it is understood that selector Bobbie O'Dwyer is in the frame, having guided the Cork minors to All-Ireland success in 2019.