All-Ireland champions Tyrone have 15 players included in the football nominations for the 2021 PwC All-Stars, with 11 different counties represented in all.

The Red Hand County regained Sam Maguire after a gap of 13 years when defeating Mayo in the All-Ireland decider on 11 September.

In what was an eventful summer for Tyrone after their heavy defeat to Kerry in the Allianz League, the side under the new management ticket of Brian Doohan and Feargal Logan, recovered to win Ulster and then emerge from the ravages of a Covid outbreak within the camp to gain revenge on the Kingdom in an absorbing All-Ireland semi-final.

The subsequent win over Mayo was well merited and their efforts have now been recognised with a third of the nominations in this year's football selection.

Tyrone have two players - Kieran McGeary and Conor Meyler - shortlisted for the PwC GAA/GPA Football of the Year award. Mayo's Lee Keegan, the 2016 winner, is again nominated.

The vote for the Young Footballer of the Year accolade will be contested between Tyrone's Darragh Canavan, Matthew Tierney of Galway and 2020 winner Mayo's Oisín Mullin.

Rob Hennelly, Rory Beggan and Niall Morgan are the trio in line for the goalkeeping award.

In defence there is a first nomination for Cork's Seán Meehan, with players from Dublin, Kerry, Mayo, Monaghan and Tyrone also in the mix.

The midfield sextet includes Armagh's Oisín O'Neill, along with Brian Howard, David Moran, Matthew Ruane and the Tyrone duo of Brian Kennedy and Conn Kilpatrick.

Another Armagh player Rian O’Neill is included in the list of 18 forwards, with Eoin Cleary of Clare, Galway's Shane Walsh, Donegal's Michael Langan and Daniel Flynn of Kildare their counties' sole representatives.

PwC All-Stars Football nominations 2021

Rob Hennelly (Mayo)
Rory Beggan (Monaghan)
Niall Morgan (Tyrone)

Seán Meehan (Cork)
Brian Howard, Mick Fitzsimons (Dublin)
Brian Ó Beaglaoich, Tom O’Sullivan, Gavin White (Kerry)
Stephen Coen, Patrick Durcan, Lee Keegan, Pádraig O’Hora (Mayo)
Ryan McAnespie (Monaghan)
Frank Burns, Pádraig Hampsey, Peter Harte, Conor Meyler, Michael McKernan, Ronan McNamee, Kieran McGeary (Tyrone)


Oisín O’Neill (Armagh)
Brian Fenton (Dublin)
David Moran (Kerry)
Matthew Ruane (Mayo)
Brian Kennedy, Conn Kilpatrick (Tyrone)

Rian O’Neill (Armagh)
Eoin Cleary (Clare)
Michael Langan (Donegal)
Cormac Costello, Ciarán Kilkenny (Dublin)
Shane Walsh (Galway)
David Clifford, Paudie Clifford, Seán O’Shea (Kerry)
Daniel Flynn (Kildare)
Tommy Conroy, Ryan O’Donoghue (Mayo)
Jack McCarron (Monaghan)
Mattie Donnelly, Darren McCurry, Conor McKenna, Cathal McShane, Niall Sludden (Tyrone)