Munster SHC final
Limerick v Waterford, Semple Stadium, 4pm

Live on RTÉ2 and RTÉ Player from 3pm.
Highlights on The Sunday Game, RTÉ2, 9.30pm.

Live commentary on RTÉ Radio 1's Sunday Sport.

Live blog on and the RTÉ News app, video highlights on social media.


Widespread showers and some longer spells of rain and risks of hail and isolated thunderstorms. There will be good sunny spells though. Highest temperatures of 9 to 12 degrees in light to moderate southerly winds.

More at

Unstoppable Limerick?

Aaron Gillane (R) tackles Waterford's Conor Prunty last year

It's a much more novel combination in Munster as Limerick and Waterford contest the final for just the fourth time in history and second since the 1930s.

In 2007, Dan Shanahan bagged a hat-trick for the Déise but Limerick got their revenge in the All-Ireland semi-final thanks to doubles from Andrew O'Shaughnessy and Donie Ryan.

Waterford are already exceeding expectations in their first year under former Tipperary U21 boss Liam Cahill.

The win over Cork - their first in Munster since 2016 - was probably the biggest surprise of the championship so far and was far more comfortable than the four-point margin suggested.

Former soccer professional Dessie Hutchinson scored three points from play in an impressive championship debut and Tadhg de Burca cleaned up as a sweeper – will Limerick allow him the same freedom?

Stopping John Kiely's men from retaining the Munster Cup would be a huge achievement.

They bullied both Clare and Tipperary, winning by 10 points and nine points respectively, and don’t seem to have been weakened by the absence of Mike Casey and Richie English (on the bench this time) in the full-back line. Their forwards are all scoring, as are the substitutes who replace them.

David Reidy starts for Darragh O'Donovan in the only change to the team that beat Tipp.

Ominously, John Kiely told RTÉ Sport this week that he thought they could play a lot better:

"The first day against Clare in the first half it was 0-15 apiece," he said. "There wasn't much in it and we didn't really get into a rhythm that we'd be happy with. We conceded 17 scores to one individual player (Tony Kelly) on the day.

"Against Tipperary, up until the 65th minute maybe, there was only two scores in it and Tipperary had a couple of chances."

For his part, Cahill admits that the 14 first-half wides Waterford hit against Cork wouldn’t cut it against Limerick and namechecked Gearóid Hegarty, Tom Morrissey, and Cian Lynch as the men they would need to stop.

"They're going to take a lot of watching. If we can win those battles, we'll give ourselves a chance. Finals are finals and anything can happen."

Cahill has named the same team that beat Cork, though it suggests Austin Gleeson will swap the wing-back jersey for full-forward with Kevin Moran. 

We can expect Waterford to challenge Limerick physically more than Cork or Tipp did. Whether that will be enough remains to be seen.

Limerick: Nickie Quaid; Sean Finn, Dan Morrissey, Barry Nash; Diarmaid Byrnes, Declan Hannon, Kyle Hayes; Cian Lynch, William O'Donoghue; Gearoid Hegarty, David Reidy, Tom Morrissey; Graeme Mulcahy, Aaron Gillane, Peter Casey.

Waterford: Stephen O'Keeffe; Shane Fives, Conor Prunty, Shane McNulty; Calum Lyons, Tadhg De Burca, Kevin Moran; Jamie Barron, Jake Dillon; Jack Fagan, Kieran Bennett, Stephen Bennett; Dessie Hutchinson, Austin Gleeson, Jack Prendergast.

2019: Limerick 2-24 Waterford 0-10 (Munster round-robin)
2018: Limerick 2-26 Waterford 1-16 (Munster round-robin)
2011: Waterford 3-15 Limerick 3-14 (Munster semi-final)
2009: Waterford 0-25 Limerick 0-17 (Munster semi-final replay)
2009: Waterford 0-11 Limerick 1-8 (Munster semi-final)