Back-to back All-Ireland champions Ballyhale Shamrocks and beaten finalists Borris-Ileigh are the dominant presence with 10 places between them on the prestigious AIB GAA Club Players' Awards team of the year in hurling.

Earlier this year, Ballyhale Shamrocks successfully defended their All-Ireland senior club hurling crown in what was a record eighth title for the exceptional Kilkenny club.

Defenders Joey Holden, Darren Mullen and Evan Shefflin have been honoured on the team of the year as have their sharp-shooting and experienced forward duo of TJ Reid and Colin Fennelly.

Tipp and Munster champs Borris-Ileigh are represented by goalkeeper James McCormack and defenders Paddy Stapleton and Brendan Maher with Dan McCormack's midfield energy recognised and so too, Jerry Kelly’s form in attack.

Similar to the football selection announced yesterday, there are five clubs represented in all.

Derry star Chrissy McKaigue won an AIB GAA Club Football Award in 2018 and adds a hurling award here on the back of his inspirational work with Ulster champs Slaughtneil.

He is joined by club-mate Brendan Rogers, who is named among the forwards and was previously a hurling winner in 2018.

Elsewhere, the impressive Shane Cooney from St Thomas’ in Galway completes the defence, while Ballygunner ace Dessie Hutchinson and St Mullin’s of Carlow star Martin Kavanagh are also honoured for their massive contribution to their club campaigns.

The awards will be presented at a special banquet in Croke Park this Friday night, where the Club Hurler of the Year will also be named. 

Ballyhale Shamrocks duo TJ Reid and Evan Shefflin have been shortlisted alongside Borris-Ileigh’s Brendan Maher. 


1 James McCormack (Borris-Ileigh)
2 Paddy Stapleton (Borris-Ileigh)
3 Joseph Holden (Ballyhale Shamrocks) *Previous winner in 2019
4 Darren Mullen (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
5 Evan Shefflin (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
6 Brendan Maher (Borris-Ileigh)
7 Shane Cooney (St Thomas) 
8 Dan McCormack (Borris-Ileigh) 
9 Christopher McKaigue (Slaughtneil)
10 Brendan Rogers (Slaughtneil) *Previous winner in 2018
11 TJ Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks) *Previous winner in 2019
12 Jerry Kelly (Borris-Ileigh) 
13 Dessie Hutchinson (Ballygunner)
14 Colin Fennelly (Ballyhale Shamrocks) *Previous winner in 2019
15 Martin Kavanagh (St Mullins)


TJ Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
Evan Shefflin (Ballyhale Shamrocks) 
Brendan Maher (Borris-Ileigh)

We need your consent to load this SoundCloud contentWe use SoundCloud to manage extra content that can set cookies on your device and collect data about your activity. Please review their details and accept them to load the content.Manage Preferences

Listen to the RTÉ GAA Podcast at Apple Podcasts, SoundcloudSpotify, or wherever you get your podcasts.