Kerry legend Paul Galvin has been ratified as the new Wexford senior football manager on a two-year term.

The four-time All-Ireland winner was nominated for the position last month, and Wexford GAA have now confirmed that Galvin will take charge of the team in 2020 following tonight's county board meeting.

His backroom team will consist of Tadhg O Donoghue, Eamon Sayers and former Wexford footballers Mattie Forde and Shane Roche.

Three-time All-Star Galvin succeeds Kildare man Paul McLoughlin, who ended his two years in the hotseat after a heavy first-round qualifier defeat to Derry. 

This is Galvin's first move into senior inter-county management as he prepares to take over the Division 4 outfit.