TG4 All-Ireland Ladies Senior Semi-Finals
Mayo v Galway, Croke Park, 2pm
Cork v Dublin, Croke Park, 3.45pm

Live blog on RTÉ.ie and the RTÉ News Now App from 1.30pm.

Live commentary on Sunday Sport from 2pm on RTÉ Radio 1

Live on TG4

Warm, dry, and calm with plenty of sun and maximum temperatures of 24 degrees. Ideal football weather.

Making History
The women's All-Ireland semi-finals will be played in Croke Park for the first time ever this year. It's another step forward for the LGFA following the yearly increase in crowds attending the senior, intermediate and junior finals in Croke Park.

Over 50,000 spectators turned out for the 2018 All-Ireland final, which was 4,000 more than the crowd that attended the final the previous year.

The average number of spectators at All-Ireland semi-finals falls well short of these numbers but booking Croke Park for the penultimate stage of the Ladies senior championship is a step forward in bridging the gap. 

Cork beat Dublin in the league semi-final this year

Old Rivalries Renewed
Familiar foes will battle it out for the spots in this year's All-Ireland final. Mayo and Galway have collided many times in provincial finals, while the Dublin and Cork share one of the most compelling rivalries in the game's history.

Between them, Dublin and Cork have won a combined total of 14 All-Ireland senior titles and have contested four of the last five All-Ireland finals. Mayo interrupted the flow in 2017.

In fact, the semi-final pairings means there is a chance of breaking the Dubs-Rebels dominance that has stretched back to 2004, when Galway were the last team to win the Brendan Martin Cup before the duopoly took over.

The Dubs had the better of the rivalry in recent years, though the Rebels struck back by winning both of their league meetings this season, including a semi-final thriller after extra-time.

Cork brushed aside Tyrone with a 26-point victory to book their place in the semi-finals while Dublin eventually shook off the challenge from Kerry in Tullamore to set up the biggest semi-final showdown in women's football in years.

Galway got the better of Mayo in the Connacht final

The Tribeswomen got the better of their neighbours in this year's Connacht final to clinch their third crown on the bounce, with Tracey Leonard grabbing all three of Galway's goals in a seven-point win.

Both sides came through the All-Ireland group series with two wins from two before heading to Glennon Brothers Pearse Park to feature in an All-Ireland quarter-final double header earlier this month.

On a wet day in Longford town, Galway scored a five-point victory over Waterford. Again, Leonard was the star for Galway with a performance that produced 1-05. Mayo had to come through a tighter battle with Armagh on the same day.

Goals from Maria Reilly and Sarah Rowe proved to be crucial while Danielle Caldwell impressed in defence. Heading into the 2019 campaign, the future looked uncertain for Mayo Ladies following the player walkout that impacted their season last year.

We need your consent to load this Facebook contentWe use Facebook to manage extra content that can set cookies on your device and collect data about your activity. Please review their details and accept them to load the content.Manage Preferences

The 12 players and two backroom team members who departed the squad have not returned to the set-up this year. But those absences have not hindered Mayo's progress this year as they target a first return to the All-Ireland decider since 2017.

Team news

Cork manager Ephie Fitzgerald has opted for one change in personnel. Áine O’Sullivan is handed a starting berth in the half-forward line and captain Doireann O’Sullivan drops to the bench as Cork prepare to tackle an unchanged Dublin.

Galway boss Tim Rabbitt and his Mayo counterpart Peter Leahy have named unchanged starting teams for the Croke Park showdown, following quarter-final victories over Waterford and Armagh respectively.

Galway: L Murphy; S Burke, N Ward, S Lynch; O Murphy, B Hannon, C Cooney; L Ward, Á McDonagh; O Divilly, M Glynn, M Seoighe; T Leonard, S Conneally, R Leonard.

Mayo: A Tarpey; N O'Malley, D Caldwell, É Ronayne; K Sullivan, Ciara McManamon, C Whyte; Clodagh McManamon, E Needham; S Cafferky, M Reilly, N Kelly; S Rowe, R Kearns, G Kelly.

Dublin: C Trant; É Rutledge, N Collins, M Byrne; A Kane, S Goldrick, O Carey; L Magee, S McGrath; C Rowe, N McEvoy, L Davey; S Aherne, N Healy, J Dunne.

Cork: M O’Brien; H Looney, E Meaney, S Kelly; A Hutchings, M Duggan, E Kiely; N Cotter, M O’Callaghan; O Farmer, C O’Sullivan, Á O’Sullivan; L Coppinger, E Scally, O Finn.

The W Podcast
You can listen to a full preview of Sunday's two semi-finals at Croke Park on the latest edition of The W Podcast.

Host Elaine Buckley is joined by RTÉ Sport's Sinead Farrell, All-Ireland winning former Dublin star Denise Masterson and Mayo legend Diane O'Hora for a football special.

 Listen to The W on Apple PodcastsSoundCloudSpotify or wherever you get your podcasts.