The Sunday Game have chosen Noel McGrath as their Player of the Year, while Kilkenny forward Adrian Mullen has taken the Young Player award in the panel's end of season selections.

McGrath was also named man of the match from the victory over Kilkenny.

The hurling pundits also selected their Team of the Year which saw five counties represented.

Not surprisingly, Tipperary provide the most players with six, though winning captain Seamus Callanan is the only forward to make the cut.

Kilkenny quartet Eoin Murphy, Padraig Walsh, TJ Reid and Colin Fennelly are rewarded for their fine individual campaigns, while Leinster champions Wexford are represented through midfielder Dee O’Keeffe and Lee Chin.

Sean Finn and Aaron Gillane fly the Limerick colours while Cork, who bowed out at the quarter-final stage, feature through sharp-shooter Patrick Horgan.

Sunday Game Team of the Year

1. Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny)

The Glenmore man makes the Sunday Game team for the second year running and is a player at the top of his game. The best shot-stopper around, his reading of the game, communication with defenders and accurate puckouts make him a cut above the rest. On top of all that, got on the scoresheet in the Leinster final.

2. Sean Finn (Limerick)

One of the stickiest man-markers in the game, Finn was a lynchpin the Limerick full-back line all year. Was up against it at times against Kilkenny in the semi-final, but is a calming and reliable presence. Backed up his winning 2018 season in style.

3. Ronan Maher (Tipperary)

The younger Maher sibling in the team was a colossus all year. Spent the majority of his time in the half-back line, but is selected at number three owing to a superb display against Kilkenny in and around the house. His ball winning ability and bursts out of defence lifts both team-mates and supporters alike.

4. Cathal Barrett (Tipperary)

What a 12 months it has been for the Holy-cross Ballycahill man. He was reduced to a watching brief for 2018 as Tipp toiled and failed to emerge from Munster. Liam Sheedy put his faith in the tigerish defender and was richly rewarded.

5. Brendan Maher (Tipperary)

The 2016 All-Ireland winning captain watched last year's final while recovering from surgery on his ACL, but was back to his very best this term, arguably enjoying his finest campaign for the Premier County. Strong in the air and now a more comfortable man-marker when the need arises. Maher's passing and vision has never been called into question and one of the key lieutenants for Liam Sheedy.  

6. Padraig Walsh (Kilkenny)

Where once Tommy Walsh was one of the inspirational players Kilkenny looked to, now the mantle has been passed to younger brother Padriag. Possibly a more important player to Brian Cody given Tommy was surrounded by some of the all-time Kilkenny greats, Padraig is employed in a number of different roles for the black and amber. Full-back stopper, centre-back lynchpin or marauding wing-back, Walsh is comfortable in any of the above roles.

7. Padraic Maher (Tipperary)

A rock solid presence in the Premier rearguard and now far more astute in his use of possession. Gone are the days of rousing the crowd by lashing the ball downfield, the Thurles Sarsfields man is always an outlet in defence and happy to make forward surges. Only blot on the copybook was a disappointing day at the office in the Munster final up against Kyle Hayes. Remains a dominant presence in the air.

8. Diarmuid O’Keeffe (Wexford)

One of the revelations of the season. The St. Anne's Rathangan clubman was central to Davy Fitzgerald’s gameplan for the Leinster champions and few players could match the midfielder for his industry. Never one to shirk his defensive duties, it was at the other end where he has really developed his game. He hit six points from play against Kilkenny in their Leinster encounters and knocked over another two against Tipp in their semi-final defeat.

9. Noel McGrath (Tipperary)

A different number on his back this year, but still the same silky skill, composure and deadly execution. Thrived on freedom of the centre of the field and stood above all else in Tipp’s comeback victory over Wexford. Reduced to 14 men after the dismissal of his brother John and railing by five points, he gave an exhibition to lead the team to a one-point victory. Backed it up with another top display in the decider.

10. Lee Chin (Wexford)

Chin’s talent can never be called into question, but a perceived inability to put together a string of impressive displays has often been thrown in his direction. Based on his performances this season, those days could be a thing of the past. Joint-captain and undoubted talisman, he set the tone for the Yellowbellies on their march through Leinster and was reliable throughout from frees.

11. TJ Reid (Kilkenny)

Where would Kilkenny have got to without the services of the Ballyhale man? You’d have to imagine it would have been a shorter summer for their supporters such is his importance to the team. Was the championship’s top scorer with 5-72 and while he was scoreless from play in the quarter and semi-final, is a natural leader in the attack. Flawless in the air, selfless in possession and a tremendous work ethic, he remains one of the top three players in the country

12. Colin Fennelly (Kilkenny)

A fifth All-Ireland title proved elusive for the rangy forward who enjoyed an exceptional season, primarily in the full-forward line. A focal point in attack, both Cork and Limerick struggled to get to grips with his ball winning ability and was the perfect foil for Adrian Mullen in his maiden season at this level.

13. Aaron Gillane (Limerick)

Lit up the early part of the season - who can forget the stunning goal against Waterford in the league final - and continued in that rich vein as Munster was annexed. Even in defeat against Kilkenny at the penultimate stage picked off three points and was directly involved with a further 1-02. Will be disappointed not to have added more against the Cats after some uncharacteristic wides, but is now firmly established as one of the most potent forwards around.

14. Seamus Callanan (Tipperary)

Team captain, team leader and scoring machine. A goal in every championship outing was eye-catching and finished the year as the leading scorer from play. There is more to his game than simply finishing and his passing – as evident for John O’Dwyer’s goal in the final – is at another level. Another wonderful campaign on the edge of the square.

15. Patrick Horgan (Cork)

Few players make the cut from a team that failed to reach the last four, but Patrick Horgan’s eye for the posts couldn’t be ignored. Plundered 3-10 against Kilkenny in the quarter-final – one goal coming while he was on his knees – but it wasn’t enough to drag his team through. A below-par first-half against Limerick aside, was sensational throughout for the Rebels.