Live blog on RTÉ.ie and the RTÉ News Now App from 3.30pm on Sunday.


Live on RTÉ2, and RTÉ Player. Highlights of all the weekend's action on The Sunday Game on RTÉ2 and the RTÉ Player from 9.30pm. Game also live on GAAGO. 


Live commentary on RTÉ Radio 1's Sunday Sport with Ger Canning and John Casey. Live on commentary on RTÉ Raidio na Gaeltachta.


Early morning mist will clear to give a dry and warm day with hazy spells of sunshine. Highest temperatures of 15 to 19 degrees in light variable breezes.

It's the poster fixture for the 'get rid of the provincial championships' campaign as Dublin bid to win their 14th title in 15 seasons. 

The only blot on their copybook over the last decade and a half came in 2010 when Meath hit them with a 5-09 to 0-13 suckerpunch in the semi-final. 

Since 2014 the winning margins in the deciders have provided a lot of ammunition for critics to shoot down the provincial competitions' worth. That's 16 points, 13, 15, 9 and 18. Close contests these games are not. 

Meath come in on the back of wins over Offaly, Carlow and Laois, while Dublin coasted past Louth and Kildare. 

Their last three championship meetings have also been at this juncture and Jim Gavin's men have had a total winning margin of 34 points from those games. 

"The problem is that Dublin are so strong everywhere," RTÉ analyst Tomás Ó Sé says

"There's too many fires to put out for Meath. They’ll wear Meath down in the second half and if they smell blood they normally put you to the sword."

Did you know

  • The All-Ireland champions are going for their 27th successive win in the Leinster Championship. 
  • Meath have just a solitary win from their last ten championship matches against the hosts. 

What's next?

The victor advances to the Super 8s where they will be in a group alongside the Connacht champions Roscommon; Ulster and Munster's beaten finalists or Round 4 qualifier winners.

Last 5 Championship meetings

2016: Dublin 0-21 Meath 0-10
2014 Dublin 3-20 Meath 1-10
2013 Dublin 2-15 Meath 0-14
2012 Dublin 2-13 Meath 1-13
2010 Meath 5-09 Dublin 0-13


Dublin team to follow...

Referee: Sean Hurson (Tyrone)