Four first-half goals powered Division 4 league champions Derry to a routine All-Ireland SFC qualifier  dismissal of Wexford at a sunny Innovate Wexford Park.

Wexford manager Paul McLoughlin resigned in the wake of the heavy defeat. The former Kildare footballer took up the role in October 2017.

Wind-assisted Wexford sprang 0-02 to no-score clear after seven minutes through Brian Malone and Conor Devitt.

But Derry turned the tables by 1-01 to 0-02 after eight minutes as Ciarán McFaul pointed before Benny Heron raced onto a Shane McGuigan pass to crash to the net.

The Oak Leafers grew in stature as they opened-up a 4-03 to 0-05 chasm after 28 minutes following further goals from McGuigan, Ryan Bell and Enda Lynn.

Derry led 4-5 to 0-5 at half-time, and they maintained control during an uneventful second-half as Damian McErlain's men bounced back purposefully from the provincial exit to Tyrone.

Derry: Thomas Mallon, Brendan Rogers, Ruairí Mooney, Karl McKaigue; Jason Rocks, Niall Keenan, Christopher McKaigue; Emmett Bradley, Conor McAtamney (0-02); Ryan Bell (1-03, 0-02 frees), Ciarán McFaul (0-01), Pádraig Cassidy (0-01); Shane McGuigan (1-03, 0-01 free), Benny Heron (1-03, 0-01 free), Enda Lynn (1-01).

Subs: Christopher Bradley (0-01) for E Bradley (44), Eoghan Concannon for K McKaigue (46), Seán F Quinn for Keenan (46), Jack Doherty (0-01) for McGuigan (51), Patrick Coney for Lynn (56), Conor Mulholland for Rogers (56).

Wexford: Matt Doyle; Michael Furlong (0-01), Eoin Porter, Alan Nolan; Conor Devitt (0-01), Brian Malone (0-01), Martin O'Connor; Daithí Waters, Niall Hughes (0-01); Glen Malone, Ben Brosnan, Eoghan Nolan; Kevin O'Grady, David Shannon, Jonathan Bealin (0-01 free).

Subs: James Cash (0-01) for Nolan (24), Tom Byrne (0-02) for Nolan (29), Shane Doyle for Devitt (ht), Donal Shanley (0-02 frees) for Bealin (50); John Tubritt for Shannon (50).

Referee: Anthony Nolan (Wicklow).