Tipperary forward Jason Forde, Waterford defender Noel Connors and Clare’s David McInerney are the high-profile inclusions in Ireland’s Hurling/Shinty International clash against Scotland on Saturday.

Managers Willie Maher and Conor Phelan have selected hurlers from 13 different counties to represent Ireland in Inverness (throw-in 2pm).

Ireland will be heading to the home of Shinty in Bught Park, looking to atone for the three-point defeat suffered last year and the inclusion of Tipp ace Forde, three-time All Star Connors and 2013 All-Ireland winner McInerney is a huge boon.

The squad that has been assembled and has been in training in recent weeks is captained by David English from Joe McDonagh Cup champions Carlow.

Westmeath’s influential Tommy Doyle, Laois goalkeeper Enda Rowland and Meath’s Damien Healy are the only survivors from last year’s squad.

International matches between Hurling and Shinty teams have taken place since 1896.

Ireland panel

1.  Enda Rowland (Laois)

2.  Brian Byrne (Kildare)

3.  Damian Casey (Tyrone)

4.  John Casey (Longford)

5.  Darragh Clinton (Westmeath)

6.  Noel Connors (Waterford)

7.  Danny Cullen (Donegal)

8.  Tommy Doyle (Westmeath)

9.  Darragh Egerton (Westmeath)

10.  David English (Carlow) CAPTAIN

11.  Jason Forde (Tipperary)

12.  Damien Healy (Meath)

13.  Gerard O’Kelly Lynch (Sligo)

14.  Gavin McGowan (Meath)

15.  Dave McInerney (Clare)

16.  Bryan Murphy (Kerry)

17.  John Michael Nolan (Carlow)

18.  Stephen Roche (Waterford)

19.  James Toher (Meath)

20.  Sean Weir (Kerry)