All 15 players who started the final for All-Ireland champions Limerick have been nominated for All-Star awards.

The record number of All-Stars won by a single team is nine: Kilkenny achieved the feat in 1983, 2000 and 2008.

John Kiely’s team ended a 45-year wait for Liam MacCarthy when they dethroned Galway in the decider last month.

Leinster champions Galway have received nine nominations, Munster champions Cork seven, All-Ireland semi-finalists Clare and Leinster runners-up Kilkenny five apiece, Wexford two and Dublin and Tipperary one each.

Waterford and Offaly are the only sides from the Leinster and Munster championships to have no nominations.

The final 15 that make up the PwC All-Star Hurling team of 2018 will be presented with their awards at a gala black-tie banquet in Dublin’s Convention Centre on Friday, 2 November, which will be screened live by RTÉ. 

Also announced today is the shortlist for this year’s Hurler of the Year and Young Hurler of the Year awards. 

These overall awards will be voted on exclusively by inter-county players and the nominees are Joe Canning (Galway), Padraig Mannion (Galway) and Cian Lynch (Limerick).

Canning scored 2-78 in 10 games for Galway this year, including 1-10 in the final as he led a late fightback. 

Mannion was inspirational at half-back for the Tribesmen throughout their nine-game run to the decider, while Limerick's dynamic midfielder Lynch chipped in with vital scores, including a goal in the semi-final victory over Cork.

The Young Hurler of the Year nominees are Darragh Fitzgibbon (Cork), Kyle Hayes (Limerick) and Mark Coleman (Cork).

The selections were voted on by a committee made up of Gaelic games correspondents, and chaired by Uachtarán Chumann Lúthchleas Gael, John Horan.

Horan said: "Even by its own high standards, the summer of 2018 will live long in the memory as producing one of the greatest hurling seasons of all time.

"Epic contests, sublime skill and sensational scores. Taken in this context, to be nominated for an All-Star hurling award is something very special.

"I warmly congratulate the 45 players who were lucky enough to make this distinguished short-list and commend all of our players who contributed to handsomely to creating a hurling season we did not want to end."

Chairman of the GPA, Limerick hurler Seamus Hickey said: "In what was one of the most memorable hurling seasons in recent memory, receiving an All Star nomination is a special accomplishment.

"Your dedication and tireless commitment has shine through for all to see. Congratulations to all the nominees for their excellence on the highest stage and thank you for a memorable summer of hurling. "

All-Star Hurling Nominations

1. Anthony Nash, Cork
2. Eoin Murphy, Kilkenny
3. Nicky Quaid, Limerick

1. Mark Coleman, Cork
2. Colm Spillane, Cork
3. David McInerney, Clare
4. Chris Crummey, Dublin
5. Dáithí Burke, Galway
6. Adrian Tuohy, Galway
7. Aidan Harte, Galway
8. Padraic Mannion, Galway
9. Cillian Buckley, Kilkenny
10. Padraig Walsh, Kilkenny
11. Sean Finn, Limerick
12. Mike Casey, Limerick
13. Richie English, Limerick
14. Diarmaid Byrnes, Limerick
15. Declan Hannon, Limerick
16. Dan Morrissey, Limerick
17. Paudie Foley, Wexford
18. Liam Ryan, Wexford

1. Colm Galvin, Clare
2. Darragh Fitzgibbon, Cork
3. David Burke, Galway
4. James Maher, Kilkenny
5. Cian Lynch, Limerick
6. Darragh O’Donovan, Limerick

1. Peter Duggan, Clare
2. John Conlon, Clare
3. Shane O’Donnell, Clare
4. Daniel Kearney, Cork
5. Seamus Harnedy, Cork
6. Pa Horgan, Cork
7. Joe Canning, Galway
8. Conor Whelan, Galway
9. Cathal Mannion, Galway
10. Jonathan Glynn, Galway
11. TJ Reid, Kilkenny
12. Kyle Hayes, Limerick
13. Gearoid Hegarty, Limerick
14. Tom Morrissey, Limerick
15. Aaron Gillane, Limerick
16. Seamus Flanagan, Limerick
17. Graeme Mulcahy, Limerick
18. Jason Forde, Tipperary

PwC GAA/GPA Hurler of the Year Nominees
1. Joe Canning, Galway
2. Padraic Mannion, Galway
3. Cian Lynch, Limerick

GAA/GPA Young Player of the Year in Hurling Nominees
1. Darragh Fitzgibbon, Cork
2. Kyle Hayes, Limerick
3. Mark Coleman, Cork