The International Olympic Committee has accepted three cities as candidates to host the XXII Winter Olympics in 2014.

PyeongChang (South Korea), Salzburg (Austria) and Sochi (Russia) were selected unanimously by IOC's executive committee from a total of seven applicants.

The applicant cities also included Almaty (Kazakhstan), Borjomi (Georgia), Jaca (Spain) and Sofia (Bulgaria).

The selection was based on applications submitted on February 1 and the three candidate cities now have until January 10, 2007 to submit their candidature file to the IOC.

The final decision on the host city will be made during the 119th IOC session in Guatemala City in July 2007.