Ciara Mageean produced another terrific performance at the Diamond League final in Zurich on Thursday evening, finishing second in an elite field behind Kenya's Faith Kipyegon.

A week after breaking Sonia O'Sullivan's long-standing Irish 1500m record, the Portaferry athlete shone again but she could not reel in the brilliant Olympic and world champion.

Kipyegon stole the show with a 4:00.44 run while Mageean clocked 4:01.68 as runner-up, catching third-placed Freweyni Hailu of Ethiopia just before the line at the Letzigrund Stadium.

The final was the climax of 12 global competitions in which athletes accumulated points for the opportunity to battle for the title of Diamond League Champion.

Last week, Mageean took three and a half seconds off her PB and over two seconds off the Irish record with a stunning run that saw her beat rival Laura Muir for first place in Brussels.

Mageean, who had taken silver behind Muir in both the European Championships and Commonwealth Games, finally got the better of her Scottish opponent, claiming victory in a time of 3:56.63 seconds.

Norway's Jakob Ingebrigtsen dominated the men's 1500m, shaving three-hundredths of a second off his world leading time this year to take the title in 3:29.02.

Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce stormed to victory in the women's 100 metres to claim her fifth win in the season-ending event.

Fraser-Pryce avenged a rare defeat by fellow Jamaican Shericka Jackson in Brussels this month to cross the line in 10.65 seconds. Jackson was second in 10.81 and Ivorian Marie-Josee Ta Lou took the bronze in 10.91.

Fraser-Pryce became the first woman in history to run below 10.70 seven times in the same season.

Earlier, Olympic silver medallist Marileidy Paulino won the women's 400m with a personal best 48.99 - the fastest time this year - and favourite Kirani James claimed the men's title in 44.26 for a third Diamond trophy after 2011 and 2015.

World champion Tobi Amusan won the women's 100m hurdles in 12.29 for back-to-back titles, before Grant Holloway sealed the men's 110m hurdles crown in 13.02 to cap off a memorable season.

Ethiopia's Werkuha Getachew capitalised on a mistake by Winfred Yavi at the final barrier to win the women's 3000m steeplechase crown.