Ireland have named their squad for the European Athletics Championships in Munich, which take place from 15 to 21 August.

Previous European Championship medal winners Thomas Barr, Ciara Mageean and Mark English will spearhead the Irish contingent, alongside world indoor finalist Sarah Lavin.

Rhasidat Adeleke had a brilliant World Athletics Championships in Oregon, helping the mixed 4x400m relay team into the final with a superb 49.80 second-leg run.

She unfortunately missed the final due to illness, but the 19-year-old came agonisingly close to making the individual 400m final as her star continues to rise.

The Irish relay teams have enjoyed real success in global competition over the past year and the women's 4x400m team looks particularly strong with Adeleke, Phil Healy, Sophie Becker, Sharlene Mawdsley, Cliodhna Manning and Roisin Harrison all on the plane to Munich.

Four-time Olympian Fionnuala McCormack heads up a strong women’s marathon team which also includes Aoife Cooke and Ann Marie McGlynn.

McCormack will be joined in Munich by fellow Tokyo Olympians Andrew Coscoran, Sarah Healy, Louise Shanahan, Marcus Lawler, David Kenny, Brendan Boyce, Chris O'Donnell, Eilish Flanagan, Leon Reid, Michelle Finn and Alex Wright.

The team also includes a blend of developing athletes including Kate O'Connor (Dundalk St. Gerards AC), and the recent record-breaking UCD pair of Darragh McElhinney and Israel Olatunde.


Fionnuala McCormack (marathon)
Rhasidat Adeleke (400m & 4x400m relay)
Thomas Barr (400m hurdles)
David Kenny (20km walk)
Louise Shanahan (800m)
Sarah Healy (1500m)
Kate O'Connor (heptathlon)
Chris O'Donnell (400m)
Sarah Lavin (100m hurdles)
Mark English (800m)
Luke McCann (1500m)
Hiko Haso (10,000m)
Brendan Boyce (35km walk)
Brian Fay (5000m)
Darragh McElhinney (5000m)
Andrew Coscoran (1500m)
Eilish Flanagan (3000m steeplechase)
Michelle Finn (3000m steeplechase)
Efrem Gidey (10,000m)
Aoife Cooke (marathon)
Phil Healy (400m & 4x400m relay)
Ciara Mageean (800m & 1500m)
John Fitzsimons (800m)
Ann Marie McGlynn (marathon)
Hugh Armstrong (marathon)
Sophie Becker (400m & 4x400m relay)
Marcus Lawler (200m & 4x100m relay)
Alex Wright 35km (walk)
Israel Olatunde (100m & 4x100m relay)
Roisin Flanagan (5000m)
Eric Favors (shot put)
Sharlene Mawdsley (4x400m relay)
Cliodhna Manning (4x400m relay)
Roisin Harrison (4x400m relay)
Joseph Ojewumi (4x100m relay)
Mark Smyth (4x100m relay)
Colin Doyle (4x100m relay)
Leon Reid (4x100m relay)
Paul Costelloe Non-travelling reserve - (4x100m relay)
Kelly McGrory Non-travelling reserve - (4x400m relay)