Russia has said it will ban a string of top officials from US President Joe Biden's administration from entering the country.

Attorney General Merrick Garland, Mr Biden's chief domestic policy advisor Susan Rice and FBI chief Christopher Wray would be barred, the foreign ministry said.

Also on the list were Homeland Security Secretary Alejandro Mayorkas, Director of National Intelligence Avril Haines, Director of the Federal Bureau of Prisons Michael Carvajal, Donald Trump's National Security Advisor John Bolton and ex-head of the CIA James Woolsey.

The ministry said the officials had "participated in the anti-Russian push" of US politics.

Lists of officials banned from entry are usually kept secret, but the ministry said it was revealing the names due to the "unprecedented nature" of the current tension with Washington.

The move is in response to US sanctions and the expulsion of ten diplomats yesterday.

Washington said it was retaliation for the Kremlin's US election interference, a massive cyber attack and other hostile activity.

Earlier, Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov told reporters that Russia was responding to US sanctions in "a tit-for-tat manner" by asking ten US diplomats in Russia to leave the country while also expelling five Polish diplomats in response to a similar move by Warsaw.

Mr Lavrov also said that Putin's top foreign policy aide, Yury Ushakov, had recommended that US envoy John Sullivan leave for Washington to conduct "serious consultations".

But Russia's foreign ministry insisted that it viewed Mr Biden's proposal to hold a summit with Putin "positively", adding that it was "currently under consideration".

President Biden's offer earlier this week of a summit had amounted to a peace offering, as tensions between Russia and the West have escalated over the conflict in Ukraine and the new penalties levied by Washington.

The US penalties widened restrictions on US banks trading in Russian government debt and sanctioned 32 individuals accused of meddling in the 2020 US presidential vote.