Ten candidates will contest this week's Roscommon-South Leitrim by-election to fill the Dáil seat vacated by newly-elected MEP Luke 'Ming' Flanagan.

The only female candidate in the race is Fine Gael councillor Maura Hopkins.

She is joined by Labour Senator John Kelly, Fianna Fáil's Ivan Connaughton and Sinn Féin's Martin Kenny.

Six of the candidates are independent or non-party: Emmett Corcoran, Tom Crosby, Michael Fitzmaurice, Des Guckian, John McDermott and Gerry O'Boyle.

The polls will open on 10 October at 7am and close at 10pm.

Six One News broadcasts from Roscommon

Jobs, healthcare and water quality key factors in by-election

Watch the Prime Time by-election debate

Morning Ireland reports on the final days of the campaign

Will any of it matter? Read David McCullagh's blog (from 26 Sept)