The speakers and presidents of parliaments from 46 countries have gathered in Dublin for a summit organised by the Council of Europe.

It is expected that 400 delegates from across the continent will attend the bi-annual event, which is being hosted by the Houses of the Oireachtas.

More than 60 speakers or deputy speakers are due to address the gathering at The Convention Centre Dublin.

The conference is focusing on three themes: the consequences of Russia's war of aggression against Ukraine; challenges to representative democracy; and equality and diversity in public representation.

It opened this morning with a welcome by Ceann Comhairle of the Dáil Seán Ó Fearghaíl and Cathaoirleach of the Seanad, Senator Jerry Buttimer.

Chair of Ukraine’s parliament, or Rada, Ruslan Stefanchuk, and speaker of the UK House of Commons, Linsday Hoyle, are due to discuss the rebuilding of Ukraine.

Also due to speak are President of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe, Tiny Kox, and Secretary General of the Council of Europe Marija Pejčinović Burić.

The first European Conference of Presidents of Parliament was held in 1975.

It takes place every two years, hosted alternately in Strasbourg and in the capital of a Council of Europe member state.