Today will be the last day of the Seanad Election count with all except one panel now complete with 42 of the 60 seats filled. 

There were nine seats to fill in the fourth of the five vocational panels.

It was a day of losses and wins for some familiar faces, with sitting Senator, Fine Gael's Catherine Noone, losing out.

Fianna Fail Senator Gerry Horkan also lost his Seanad seat and his party colleague, former TD and frontbencher Timmy Dooley, failed to stay in the Oireachtas.

Two Fine Gael councillors, Micheal Carrigy, Longford councillor and Barry Ward, councillor for Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown were the first to be elected.   

Joining them, Fianna Faill’s Aidan Davitt and Catherine Ardagh kept their Seanad seats while Galway councillor, Ollie Crowe, is elevated to the Upper House.

Independent Frances Black kept her seat and councillor Mark Wall gained the fourth Labour party Seanad seat. 

Former MP and MLA from Derry, Sinn Fein’s Elisha McCallion, became the party’s third Senator but even though she topped the poll at the beginning of the day, it took until the 31st count for her to be elected. 

Joining her on that last count was Independent councillor from Meath, Sharon Keogan.

Counting for the final panel, the Administrative panel, has begun. There are three out of the seven seats have been filled.  

Fianna Fáil's Mark Daly was re-elected to the panel after topping the poll with 167,000 votes. 

He was followed by his party and Seanad colleague Diarmuid Wilson who also kept his seat. 

Their colleague Lorraine Clifford-Lee, who failed to win a seat in the general election, has lost her Seanad seat and the former Fine Gael TD Noel Rock has also failed in his bid to become a Senator.

The former TD for Kildare South, Fianna Fáil's Fiona O'Loughlin won a seat and due to the minimum number of seats on each sub-panel, it is guaranteed Fine Gael sitting senator Martin Conway will also be elected.   

Labour's Rebecca Moynihan and Sinn Féin's Niall Ó Donnghaile are hoping to take one of the three remaining seats.

Meanwhile, the Fine Gael parliamentary party has been told by leader Leo Varadkar that he will act on the gender problem triggered by the Seanad elections. 

All of the ten Senators elected for the party so far are male. 

RTÉ News understands that in any coalition deal involving Fine Gael, Mr Varadkar will seek to ensure that most, if not all, leader nominations to the Seanad are female. 

Fianna Fáil is also presented with a similar problem, of 13 Senators elected so far, 11 are male. 

Industrial and Commercial Panel (9 seats)

Fine Gael councillor for Longford, Michael Carrigy was the first Senator elected to the panel.

His party colleague Barry Ward, councillor in Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown, was also elected.

Outgoing Fianna Fáil Senator Aidan Davitt retained his seat.

Galway city councillor Ollie Crowe took a second seat for Fianna Fáil.

Labour Panel (11 seats)

The Labour panel, saw six Senators re-elected - Fine Gael's Jerry Buttimer and Joe O'Reilly, Fianna Fáil's Robbie Gallagher and Ned O’Sullivan, Sinn Féin’s Paul Gavan, and Independent Gerard Craughwell.

The other five places went to two former Fianna Fáil TDs who had lost their Dáil seats in the general election in Pat Casey and Shane Cassells, as well as three councillors; Fine Gael’s John Cummins from Waterford, the Green Party’s Pauline O’Reilly from Galway and Dublin-based Labour councillor Marie Sherlock.

Just missing out on the last count was Eileen Flynn, a member of the Travelling community, who was nominated by People Before Profit TDs and Independent TD Thomas Pringle.

Agricultural Panel (11 seats)

Yesterday, the 11 seats on the Agriculture Panel were filled with former Sinn Féin MEP Lynn Boylan and outgoing Green Party Senator Pippa Hackett picking up seats.

Labour Councillor Annie Hoey, who stood in the general election, also won a seat on the agriculture panel.

Current Fine Gael Senators Tim Lombard and Paddy Burke also retained their seats.

Joining them is Fianna Fáil's Eugene Murphy who lost his Dáil seat in the general election.

Outgoing Cathaoirleach of the Seanad, Fianna Fáil's Denis O'Donovan, was next to take a seat.

The third seat was taken by Fianna Fáil Senator Paul Daly and the fourth by former Fianna Fáil TD Niall Blaney.

Fine Gael's Michael D'Arcy, the outgoing Minister of State with responsibility for Insurance, was elected. He lost out in the Wexford constituency in general election.

Yesterday, Independent Senator Victor Boyhan was re-elected, after he topped the poll with 89,000 votes, getting elected on the sixth count.

All six Senators on the university panels retained their seats.

NUI Panel (3 seats)

At the RDS, where the NUI colleges count was held, Independents Rónán Mullen, Michael McDowell and Alice-Mary Higgins all retained their seats.

There were 112 surplus votes distributed from Mr Mullen, who was elected on the first count and the quota was 9,530.

Mr McDowell was re-elected on the tenth count, with 9,532 votes.

Ms Higgins was deemed elected on the 16th count.

Trinity Panel (3 seats)

On the Trinity Panel, David Norris was elected on the 4th count.

He gained 3,768 votes. This will be Senator Norris's ninth term in the Seanad.

Labour's Ivana Bacik was returned to the Upper House after reaching 3,963 votes on the sixth count.

Outgoing Independent Senator Lynn Ruane took the final seat on the 8th count.

Cultural & Educational Panel (5 seats)

All five seats have been filled on the Cultural and Educational panel with Fine Gael's Sean Kyne and John McGahon, Fianna Fáil's Malcolm Byrne and Lisa Chambers, and Sinn Féin's Fintan Warfield all taking seats.

Former Fianna Fáil TD Margaret Murphy O'Connor, who lost her Dáil seat in the general election, failed to get elected to the Seanad.

There are still 16 seats to be filled on the remaining two vocational panels while the Taoiseach of the next Government will nominate the final 11 candidates.

Additional reporting Paul Cunningham