Forty eight new TDs have arrived at Leinster House as the 33rd Dáil convenes for the first time.

Sinn Féin has the largest number of new faces with 17 recently elected deputies.  

The Green Party has added nine TDs to its ranks, while Fianna Fáil has eight new Dáil seats.  

Five new deputies join Fine Gael, the Social Democrats added four; Labour has one new TD while there are also four new Independent members.

The youngest TD is the Fianna Fáil representative for Cork East, James O'Connor, who is 22.

Another TD under 30 is 27-year-old Sinn Féin deputy Claire Kerrane who was elected in Roscommon-Galway.

Also members of the 33rd Dáil are some well known names such as former MEPs Sinn Féin's Matt Carthy and Independent Verona Murphy.  

There are also several former senators who are taking the well worn route from the upper house to the lower house.

These include Fine Gael's Colm Burke who was elected in Cork North Central for the first time, finally making a breakthrough after contesting the seat since the early 1980s.  He has also been Lord Mayor of Cork, a city councillor and a MEP.

Fine Gael's former Brexit spokesman in the Seanad, Neale Richmond, has also been elected in Dublin Rathdown.  

Fianna Fáil's Jennifer Murnane O'Connor gained a seat in Carlow-Kilkenny having narrowly missed out in 2016.  Sinn Féin's Rose Conway-Walsh also moves to the lower house having previously been the party's leader in the Seanad.

Sinn Féin had its best general election result of recent years, adding new TDs in parts of the country where it had not been expected to make a breakthrough.

These include constituencies like Roscommon-Galway, where there has not been a Sinn Féin TD for over 100 years.

The four new independent deputies include former army ranger Cathal Berry, who was elected in Kildare South, building contractor Richard O'Donoghue in Limerick County, and health campaigner Matt Shanahan in Waterford.

In addition, there are a few newly-affiliated TDs who do not make these lists as they have been elected before in a different guise. These include independents Michael McNamara, formerly of Labour, and Peter Fitzpatrick, formerly Fine Gael. 

Sinn Féin's Chris Andrews was previously a TD in the same constituency of Dublin Bay South for Fianna Fáil, while the party's Health Spokesperson Stephen Donnelly was first elected as an independent deputy in 2011 and five years later as a member of the Social Democrats.

Order of business

The Dáil met at noon when the Clerk of the Dáil called out the names of all the TDs returned from each constituency, before reading out the names of the nominees for Ceann Comhairle.

Each nominee then addressed the house for five minutes.

Voting has begun, during which each member is casting a vote in the Dáil lobby. The Dáil will then break to allow for the count.

At around 3.15pm, the Dáil resumes and the clerk will announce the name of the new Ceann Comhairle, who then takes the chair and will immediately call for nominations for the position of Taoiseach.

The sitting government gets to nominate first, followed by the political parties. The nominee does not speak, as the house only hears from the proposer and seconder.

After all nominations are made, voting will begin at around 6.30pm.

If no Taoiseach is elected, the Ceann Comhairle will then propose the house be suspended.

Full list of new TDs:

Sinn Féin leader Mary Lou McDonald alongside the party's new TDs (file pic)

Sinn Féin – 17

Martin Browne - Tipperary

Matt Carthy – Cavan-Monaghan

Sorca Clarke - Longford-Westmeath

Rose Conway-Walsh - Mayo

Réada Cronin - Kildare North

Pa Daly - Kerry

Paul Donnelly - Dublin West

Mairéad Farrell - Galway West

Thomas Gould - Cork North Central

Johnny Guirke - Meath West

Claire Kerrane - Roscommon-Galway

Johnny Mythen - Wexford

Ruairí Ó Murchú - Louth

Darren O'Rourke - Meath East

Patricia Ryan - Kildare South

Pauline Tully - Cavan Monaghan

Violet-Anne Wynne - Clare

The Green Party's new TDs at Leinster House (Pic: Rolling News)

Green Party – 9

Patrick Costello - Dublin South Central

Francis Noel Duffy - Dublin

Neasa Hourigan - Dublin Central

Brian Leddin - Limerick City

Steven Matthews - Wicklow

Malcolm Noonan – Carlow-Kilkenny

Marc Ó Cathasaigh - Waterford

Roderic O'Gorman - Dublin West

Ossian Smyth - Dún Laoghaire

Fianna Fáil - 8

Cathal Crowe - Clare

Cormac Devlin - Dún Laoghaire

Joe Flaherty - Longford-Westmeath

Norma Foley - Kerry

Paul McAuliffe - Dublin North West

Jennifer Murnane O'Connor – Carlow-Kilkenny

James O'Connor - Cork East

Christopher O'Sullivan - Cork South West

Four of Fine Gael's five newly elected TDs at Leinster House (file pic)

Fine Gael - 5

Colm Burke - Cork North Central

Alan Dillon - Mayo

Jennifer Carroll MacNeill - Dún Laoghaire

Neale Richmond - Dublin Rathdown

Emer Higgins - Dublin Mid West

Independents - 4

Cathal Berry - Kildare South

Verona Murphy - Wexford

Richard O'Donoghue - Limerick County

Matt Shanahan - Waterford

The Social Democrats gained four seats (file pic)

Social Democrats - 4

Jennifer Whitmore - Wicklow

Holly Cairns - Cork South West

Gary Gannon - Dublin Central

Cian O'Callaghan - Dublin Bay North

Labour - 1

Duncan Smith - Dublin Fingal