Businessman Peter Casey has secured a nomination to contest the Presidential Election after receiving the support of four local authorities.

Earlier today, Limerick City and County Council endorsed him, followed later this afternoon by Tipperary County Council.

Yesterday, he was endorsed by Kerry and Claire councils to contest the election on 26 October.

In Tipperary, Mr Casey secured 13 votes to eight votes for journalist Gemma O'Doherty.

There was one abstention and 18 councillors were absent from the vote.

In Limerick, he was proposed by Fianna Fáil and seconded by Fine Gael.

Ms O'Doherty was nominated by Cllr John Loftus (non-party) and seconded by independent Cllr John Gilligan.

Mr Casey received 21 votes from Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil councillors and Ms O'Doherty received three votes from proposer and seconder and Independent Cllr Emmet O'Brien. There were eight abstentions.

Presidential Election hopefuls must secure the support of four local authorities or 20 TDs and senators to stand in the election.

A sitting president can nominate themselves to seek a second term and President Michael D Higgins has already indicated that he intends to run.

Seán Gallagher, Joan Freeman, Gavin Duffy and Liadh Ní Riada have all been nominated to run in the election.

The closing date for nominations is 26 September.

Meanwhile, Longford County Council has become the latest local authority to decide against nominating a candidate for the election after only one hopeful showed up to address local politicians.

Prior to Kevin Sharkey's withdrawal yesterday as many as seven potential candidates had been due to attend a special meeting of the council.

However, only one - Roscommon farmer John Groarke - attended with a number of others opting for the confines of Limerick City and County Council instead.

That prompted a number of elected members to hit out at the no show, with Cathaoirleach Councillor Luie McEntire expressing his disappointment after the meeting had ended.

Read more:
Who's in the race for the presidency?

Presidential Election: Tallies

Michael D Higgins: To nominate himself

Seán Gallagher: Five endorsements from Roscommon, Mayo, Leitrim, Wexford, Cavan

Joan Freeman: Four endorsements from Cork City, Fingal, Galway County, Galway City

Gavin Duffy: Four endorsements from Waterford, Meath, Carlow, Wicklow

Liadh Ní Riada: Selected by Sinn Féin

Peter Casey: Four endorsements from Limerick City and County, Tipperary, Kerry, Clare 

Seeking endorsements: Peter Casey, William Delaney 1957-1970, Patrick Feeney, John Groarke, Patrick Melly, Marie Goretti Moylan, Sarah Louise Mulligan, Gemma O'Doherty, James Smyth.