One to watch: Big challenges for Sinn Féin and the DUP.

Profile: This is a constituency which brings the battle between the SDLP and Sinn Féin for the nationalist vote into sharp focus. Sinn Féin has had its troubles in this constituency.

Its two MLAs, including well-known Derry republican Martina Anderson, were encouraged not to seek re-election. They stood down following a review of the party's electoral performance. Two other party members were co-opted, have only held the seats for a number of months and are facing the electorate for the first time.

The SDLP has always polled strongly in this constituency and has designs on a third seat. The 2019 British General Election saw party leader Colum Eastwood pull off a remarkable victory when he took back the seat from Sinn Féin whose vote almost halved. The SDLP will be hoping to see that support continue. Its team includes its two incumbent MLAs. Its third candidate has a profile as a former mayor of the city.

The DUP will be working hard to retain its seat. Its candidate held off a challenge from well-known Derry journalist Eamonn McCann of People Before Profit by just over 600 votes last time.

Mr McCann is not standing this time but the Ulster Unionists are running a decorated former British soldier and former DUP member as its candidate. Ryan McCready was a DUP councillor but quit the party in protest at its treatment of former leader Arlene Foster.

If either Sinn Féin or the DUP were to drop a seat it could have consequences for which of them is the biggest party and ultimately gets the job of Stormont's First Minister.

2017 Assembly Election: SF 2; SDLP 2; DUP 1

First preference share 2017:
SF 36.6%;
SDLP 31.8%;
DUP 13.4%

Seats Available: 5

Number of candidates: 14


Padraig Delargy, Sinn Féin

Emmet Doyle, Aontú

Mark H Durkan, SDLP

Ciara Ferguson, Sinn Féin

Rachael Ferguson, Alliance Party

Gillian Hamilton, Green Party (NI)

Shaun Harkin, People Before Profit Alliance

Anne McCloskey, Independent

Ryan McCready, UUP

Colly McLaughlin, IRSP

Sinéad McLaughlin, SDLP

Gary Middleton, DUP

Elizabeth Neely, TUV

Brian Tierney, SDLP